The Monthly Newsletter: April&May 2015

The Monthly Newsletter

Welcome to The Monthly Newsletter brought to you by the bloggers of Books and Ashes! Last month was hectic for both of us here so we didn’t have the time to make this post so this one will be a mash of both! (And this one is last, sorry about that!)

General Blogging

After the hectic month April was for both bloggers, May was a little more toned down for us but a great many things still happened! Between moving and hospitals we had plenty to do outside of blogging this month. We’re also (slowly but surely) getting caught up with revising our pages that list the reviews (as well as in the process of making another page for them too), as well as other tiny things throughout the blog to get it situated just right in our eyes. Hopefully by the end of the summer well have that done!

We’re also looking to maybe expand out more into social media, so the option of a Facebook for us has been put forward. We’re trying to figure out how we’re going to use that since we’re already stretched thin as it is between everything we run right now!

What do you guys think, is Facebook helpful with your blog?

The Monthly Writer

Bri I’ve diligently been working on my novel this month. I’m getting to much farther than I have before! I’m mashing together the three different beginnings I have designed in the past, and I honestly think this will be the best one. I can’t wait to see how it turns out this time!

Assassin Iris I don’t think I’ve mentioned my RP (or if I have it was only once) but the last month has consisted with lots of writing of my character. I just got a second character, and already I’m keeping my eyes peeled for a potential third. Safe to say that when I’m not here, my RP is definitely where I’m at! (happyneverafterrp.tumblr.com, come check us out!)

The Monthly Reader

We read a lot of books in both April and May, although definitely more in April than May but hey! There were some good books in there! I’ll be honest though, Rosamund Hodge’s books are freaking brilliant and I’m really looking forward to her next Retelling! As a little tidbit, I also finished Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda yesterday and I LOVED it! Expect a review for it soon!

April’s favorites were:

Lioness of Kell None of the Above Every Last Promise

May’s favorites were:

Compendium Crimson Bound  Confessions of a Virgin Sex Columnist Talon

Last Month's Reviews

Covers link to the reviews of each book!

5 Star

May:

Compendium Crimson Bound

4 half stars

April:

The Queen of Bright and Shiny Things Books, Blogs, & Reality Lioness of Kell Nobody's Goddess None of the Above

May:

The Bane Chronicles Ignite the Shadows Cruel Beauty

4star

April:

The Secrets of Attraction Things We Know by Heart Never Sleep 99 Days The Dawning of Firebird Alex

May:

Chantress Furry Swept Away Eve Brenner; Zombie Girl Come, the Dark Confessions of a Virgin Sex Columnist Siren's Fury

3 half star

April:

Summer Confessions Praefatio Every Last Promise life unaware Solitaire The Fangirl's Guide to the Galaxy

May:

Aurora Sky Teresa Yeh Photography Proofs Stakeout Bad Blood  Hunting Season Dragons are People, Too The Selection Dreamscape; Saving Alex Gilded Ashes Talon true calling beyond reach Storm Siren

3 star

May:

Seeker

Challenge Updates

Wow oh wow, I literally have to sort through all my books from the last two months, so there’s no update in this section besides our combined Goodreads reading goal!

2015 Goodreads Challenge

We changed our goal (again). Now we’re aiming for 250 books and so far we’ve read 128! Not to mention we’re also 24 books ahead!

The Month Upcoming

In May I participated in a page count read-a-thon with a few buddy reads. It was pretty fun actually! I got quite a bit of reading done, and in June I’ll be participating in a month long TBR read-a-thon to clear out a bunch of books I’ve been meaning to read alongside some others that I’ll have to read. Though, there are two releases this month I’m looking forward to that are just so far away! As in, they don’t release until the end of the month!

Winter Turning; Wings of Fire The Forgotten Mountain

And news about The Collectors’ Society series! We have only one more book before the series is finished! I don’t think I’m ready to let them go! But with Winter Turning releasing as well this month I’m squealing out of my seat in excitement! I seriously love both of these series more than I can express!

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

