Dreamscape: Saving Alex by Kirstin Pulioff

dreamscapebanner

Dreamscape; Saving Alex

Dreamscape: Saving Alex
Kirstin Pulioff
Published: 15th April, 2015
Genre: Contemporary, Fantasy
Age: Young Adult
From: CBB Book Promotions

Summary:

Sixteen-year-old Alexis Stone is used to getting away from life’s frustration with Dreamscape, a video game she’s loved since childhood. As her family prepares to move, a sleepy night of gaming pulls her into the world like never before. Trapped in Dreamscape’s realm, Alex is about to learn that being a hero has consequences… and this time, the stakes are deadly. Will helping the rebellion cost her everything she knows and loves? Or will she betray them to save her own life?

What I liked:I really liked the idea behind the story, which is what drew me to it originally, because it reminded me in a way of a show I watched once that I really liked where the characters were trapped in a video game. The way the author was able to make this story flow together and make sense, not to mention the adventure that Alex wet on was fun and thrilling to me. I wasn’t always a fan of Alex herself because of the way she acted in the beginning, but that let me watch her grow which was something that I enjoyed. The story itself was both entertaining and exciting as I learned a bit about the world that Alex had been dropped into. It was styled a little more like older video games in the way you learned things about the world, but I felt like that really did work for this story, although of course I always wanted to know a little more about the world and characters!

What I didn’t like: Sometimes the story felt a little fast paced, and while I know there was a lot for the author to get through in this novel, I wish some parts had had more time spent on them to make it not feel so fast in those parts. I also didn’t understand why the move was sprung on her the day before either, it takes more than just one day to sort and pack up everything you would have in a house. She should have been given at least two or three more days to know about it. As someone who has moved nine times already, it can take a while to pack up.

Overall Review: This was a fun, fast paced story that was enjoyable with all its characters, and it was an entertaining tale about Alex as she went through the story trying to get back home to her family and her friend, even if she’s not looking forward to leaving her friends and everything else behind. I actually am still a bit back and forth about the ending of this story though. On one hand I liked it because it surprised me because of how it ended, but on the other hand I’m unhappy with it and also experiencing a case of feels because of how it ended!

Recommend?: Yeah! I’m even looking out to see if there will be a sequel to this one as well after that ending!

Goodreads: 3.9/5 Amazon: 4.8/5 Barnes&Noble: -/5 BookDepository: -/5

US Paperback | UK Kindle | UK Paperback

My Rating: 3.7/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 3.6
Idea: 3.8
Story: 3.7
Characters: 3.8

Check out the rest of the tour here!

About the Author

Kirstin Pulioff is a storyteller at heart. Born and raised in Southern California, she moved to the Pacific Northwest to follow her dreams and graduated from Oregon State University (Go Beavs!) with a degree in Forest Management. Happily married and a mother of two, she lives in the foothills of the Colorado, and enjoys being a stay at home mom. When she’s not writing an adventure, she’s busy living one.

Links:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

GIVEAWAY*!

Winner drawn 27th May, 2015

  • $50 Amazon or PayPal gift card (INT)
  • 5 custom made necklaces (US)
  • 3 custom Dreamscape bookmarks (US)
  • 2 custom Dreamscape zipper pulls  (US)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Books and Ashes is not responsible for any lost, damaged, or unreceived materials that you may win. Books and Ashes does not handle the materials, or have any input on who receives a prize. In the case of a Books and Ashes Sponsored Giveaway Random.org will choose the winner. US and international followers eligible where applicable.

9 responses to “Dreamscape: Saving Alex by Kirstin Pulioff

  1. thankyou for the complete review. And thankyou for hosting the giveaway. You are so nice 😁

    Like

  2. This book sounds great. I hope I win the giveaway. Would love to read and review this book.

    Like

  3. I’m glad you enjoyed! Thank you so much for hosting a tour stop and sharing your thoughts!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Tour Page- Dreamscape: Saving Alex by Kirstin Pulioff (May 11-22)

  5. Thank you so much for the review, I truly appreciate it. 🙂

    Like

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

