Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge

Book Reviews

Crimson Bound

Crimson Bound
Rosamund Hodge
Published: 5th May, 2015
Balzer + Bray
Genre: Fantasy, Fairy Tale, Retelling
Age: Young Adult
From: Edelweiss

Summary:

When Rachelle was fifteen she was good—apprenticed to her aunt and in training to protect her village from dark magic. But she was also reckless—straying from the forest path in search of a way to free her world from the threat of eternal darkness. After an illicit meeting goes dreadfully wrong, Rachelle is forced to make a terrible choice that binds her to the very evil she had hoped to defeat.

Three years later, Rachelle has given her life to serving the realm, fighting deadly creatures in an effort to atone. When the king orders her to guard his son Armand—the man she hates most—Rachelle forces Armand to help her find the legendary sword that might save their world. As the two become unexpected allies, they uncover far-reaching conspiracies, hidden magic, and a love that may be their undoing. In a palace built on unbelievable wealth and dangerous secrets, can Rachelle discover the truth and stop the fall of endless night?

Inspired by the classic fairy tale Little Red Riding Hood, Crimson Bound is an exhilarating tale of darkness, love, and redemption.

What I liked: This story was utterly brilliant and captivating. Rachelle, our main heroine of the story, is everything I ever needed/wanted in a fantasy tale like this. She’s a character who, while fierce and at times ruthless when it suits her, also has a gentler and more protective side to her that you can see with Armand and Amelie. The best part I think about this story wasn’t that it was so captivating that I was always itching to return to the land each time I put it down, it was that in the end I felt bad for Erec of all characters, even after all the things he does in this story the gets unveiled. In the beginning I liked Erec because the chemistry between Erec and Rachelle seemed so volatile and so great and I loved it. Over time, all of the characters evolve and become different from how we knew them in the beginning as the story ramps up and becomes more intense. Trust me when I say not everything is always as it seems in this story either.

What I didn’t like: I was a little unimpressed with the way the story ended, honestly I was expecting Rachelle and Armand to part ways and have no real “reunion” after everything that happened. While I did like Armand and Rachelle, I liked their relationship more when they’re friends.

Overall Review: I have to say, the ending of that summary does not disappoint. This was an exhilarating tale filled with darkness, redemption, and even at times, love. Moral ambiguity was highly abound in this story, and nothing was black and white, everything was various shades of grey. I honestly feel that the story was much stronger because of that, and because of the way the story went, anything less than a bunch of moral ambiguity with the characters wouldn’t have made this book quite as thrilling or exciting to me.

Recommend?: This book gets a definite yes in the recommending area. It was a fantastic read, and one that pleased me so much that I can’t wait to get a copy of my own!

Goodreads: 3.8/5 Amazon: 4/5 Barnes&Noble: 4.5/5 BookDepository: -/5

US Hardcover | Audible | Audio CD | UK Hardcover | Kobo | iBooks

My Rating: 4.7/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.5
Idea: 4.6
Story: 4.8
Characters: 4.9

Rosamund Hodge

About the Author

I love mythology, Hello Kitty, and T. S. Eliot. I also write YA fantasy novels: CRUEL BEAUTY, where Greek mythology meets Beauty and the Beast, and CRIMSON BOUND, where Little Red Riding Hood meets The Girl With No Hands.

Links:

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

