Swept Under by Michelle Dalton

SWEPT AWAY

Swept Away

Swept Away
Michelle Dalton
Published: 5th May, 2015
Simon Pulse
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Age: Young Adult
From: Fantastic Flying Book Cub

Summary:

Beachfront love blossoms in this refreshing summer romance, in the tradition of Sixteen Summer and Seventeen Summer.

Mandy Sullivan isn’t exactly looking forward to the summer months as tourists invade her seaside hometown of the coast of Maine. Her best friend, Cynthia, has abandoned her for camp and her older brother just announced he’ll be staying at college taking classes for the summer, leaving Mandy with nothing to do and no one to hang out with. Hoping to keep herself busy, Mandy takes a volunteer job at the Rocky Pointe Lighthouse. On her very first day, Oliver Farmingham asks for a private tour. A new-and incredibly cute-face in Rocky Pointe, Oliver seems more interested in Mandy than the lighthouse and its history.

Without her best friend at her side, Mandy is scrambling to act the right way and say the right things when Oliver is around. Cynthia-not Mandy-has always been the confident, flirtatious girl that everyone wanted to be around. As mandy and Oliver spend more time together exploring the coast, biking through the woods, and attending the local summer festivals, their budding friendship becomes much more. But with Mandy’s insecurities creeping to the surface, can she open her heart to someone who will only be in town for three months?

What I liked: The cover of this book gave off a wonderful, summertime romance feel and the story fell into that feeling. The romance between Mandy and Oliver started off and stayed pretty cute throughout the story as they grew to know each other. I also liked that how that even though Mandy’s best friend, Cynthia, was gone for the summer that Mandy still had friends that she could spend time with. Oliver’s grandfather, John, turned out to be quite different from what I was expecting when he was first introduced into the story, and I ended up really liking his character and the role he played.

What I didn’t like: Other than the cliche bits (because this is romance and those were expected so they didn’t completely bother me even all that much) there really wasn’t anything that even bothered me about this story.

Overall Review: This story was cute and fun, and I really liked the story. Oliver and Mandy were cute together and they had an adventurous sort of story that drew me in and kept me entertained. The light romance moved quick, but at a pace that was enjoyable for this story and worked well in the story.

Recommend?: If you’re looking for a light summer romance this story is really great for that!


“I think just like you’re trapped in a candy tower to be a witch’s servant, he’s under a spell. A spell that can only be broken by a kiss from an innocent year-rounder.”

Is this what it’s like to fall in love?


Goodreads: 4.3/5 Amazon: -/5 Barnes&Noble: -/5 BookDepository: -/5

US Paperback | UK Kindle | UK Paperback | Kobo | iBooks

My Rating: 3.9/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.6
Idea: 3.5
Story: 3.8
Characters: 3.8

Don’t forget to check out the rest of the Sixteen Summer standalones!

cvr9781442423442_9781442423442_hr

Sixteen Summer
Michelle Dalton
Published: 3rd May, 2011
Simon Pulse
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Age: Young Adult

Summary:

Anna is dreading another tourist-filled summer on Dune Island that follows the same routine: beach, ice cream, friends, repeat. That is, until she locks eyes with Will, the gorgeous and sweet guy visiting from New York. Soon, her summer is filled with flirtatious fun as Anna falls head over heels in love.

But with every perfect afternoon, sweet kiss, and walk on the beach, Anna can’t ignore that the days are quickly growing shorter, and Will has to leave at the end of August. Anna’s never felt anything like this before, but when forever isn’t even a possibility, one summer doesn’t feel worth the promise of her heart breaking.

Goodreads button Amazon button Amazon Kindle button Barnes and Noble button Barnes and Noble Nook button Kobo button BookDepository button Amazon UK button Amazon Kindle UK button

Pulled Under

Pulled Under
Michelle Dalton
Published: 6th May, 2014
Simon Pulse
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Age: Young Adult

Summary:

A shy teen befriends an attractive beach town tourist in this refreshing summertime romance, in the tradition of Sixteenth Summer and Seventeenth Summer.

In the small town of Pearl Beach, Florida, Izzy Lucas needs only her surfboard and the water to be completely happy. She wants nothing to do with parties, popularity contests, or showing her face around the cliched touristy hangouts. Izzy’s tight group of coworkers at the local surf shop have tried relentlessly to break shy Izzy out of her (sea)shell. But Izzy isn’t interested…until the day Ben Barker walks into the store.

Ben’s from the city. He’s cute, charming, and wants to her help adjusting to the beach town culture. As the weeks of surfing lessons and pizza shack visits fly by, Izzy and Ben realize their attraction goes beyond mere friendship. But Ben is only in town for three months, and Izzy wonders if this amazing guy is worth stepping out of her comfort zone for what might be the perfect summer romance-or her first heartbreak.

Goodreads button Amazon button Amazon Kindle button Barnes and Noble button Barnes and Noble Nook button Kobo button BookDepository button Amazon UK button Amazon Kindle UK button

Check out the rest of the tour here!

About the Author

Michelle Dalton is one of the many names Carla Jablonski uses when writing. Her two YAs written as Carla Jablonski (published by Razorbill/Penguin), Thicker than Water and Silent Echoes, were included on the NYPL Books for the Teen Age list, and her graphic novel trilogy, Resistance (illustrated by Leland Lurvis, published by :01 Books) has won several awards, including the Sydney Taylor Silver Medal. In addition to writing novels she is an actor, playwright, and former trapeze artist. A native New Yorker, she is eternally grateful to her friends who invite her to their beach houses.

GIVEAWAY*!

  • One finished copy of Swept Away by Michelle Dalton (US only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Books and Ashes is not responsible for any lost, damaged, or unreceived materials that you may win. Books and Ashes does not handle the materials, or have any input on who receives a prize. In the case of a Books and Ashes Sponsored Giveaway Random.org will choose the winner. US and international followers eligible where applicable.

Advertisements

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s