The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson

Book Reviews

The Bane Chronicles

The Bane Chronicles( The Bane Chronicles #1-#11)
Cassandra Clare; Sarah Rees Brennan; Maureen Johnson
Published: 11th November, 2014
Margaret K. McElderry Books
Genre: Urban Fantasy, Supernatural
Age: Young Adult
From: Purchased via WalMart

Summary:

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this collection of New York Times bestselling tales, in print for the first time with an exclusive new story and illustrated material.

This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp wit populate the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

Originally released one-by-one as e-only short stories by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson, and Sarah Rees Brennan, this compilation presents all ten together in print for the first time and includes a never-before-seen eleventh tale, as well as new illustrated material.

What I liked: Each of these tales are wonderfully written and filled to the brim with humor. Within each one we get a glimpse into the life of Magnus Bane, the enigmatic character of both The Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Devices series. Magnus has always been my favorite character, sassy and sarcastic with a flare of fashion that is all his own. Each of these stories showed him in that way, and a few even showed how sensitive and loving the man can be, if a bit frustrating for the other characters. I have to say, his story What Really Happened In Peru was fantastically amusing and had me laughing most of the way through. His stories about his adventures in Peru were funny and amazing, especially the part where Catarina told Magnus he flirted with his plate and he told her that he is a “very open minded guy.” It was great to see how, even if he didn’t know a family of werewolves that were being persecuted he was willing to step in and help in whatever way he could. It was also amazing to see how Magnus saw Alec, it was so touching and adorable to see that. I also came to appreciate Raphael even more, and learned to really like him as well in the portions of the book he appeared. His friendship wit Magnus was great, and I really enjoyed it.

What I didn’t like: No complaints here from me! I thought the adventures were fun and short, each one a fun read for myself!

Overall Review: With eleven stories of Magnus Bane that include many of his adventures in his long life, The Bane Chronicles was a fun compilation of stories. It showed sides of Magus I hadn’t know, and sides of him that I already knew. I loved how even though Magnus has flaws, there were some that he was willing to admit that he had. I liked how I got to see other characters that I was familiar with and others that I wasn’t, it made for an interesting mix in the stories.

Recommend?: If you’re a fan of Magnus Bane I recommend you pick this up to learn more about the man!

Goodreads: 4.2/5 Amazon: 4.5/5 Barnes&Noble: 4.2/5 BookDepository: 4/5

US Hardcover | US Paperback | Audible | Audio CD | UK Kindle | UK Hardcover | UK Paperback | Kobo | iBooks

My Rating: 4.7/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.8
Idea: 4.6
Story: 4.8
Characters: 4.6

Advertisements

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s