Never Sleep by Cady Vance

NeverSleepTourBanner1

Never Sleep

Never Sleep (The Endless Midnight #1)
Cady Vance
Published: 23rd February, 2015
CreateSpace
Genre: Science Fiction
Age: Young Adult
From: Xpresso Book Tours

Summary:

127 days without sleep.

Thora Green had a life once upon a time. But that ended the day her parents enrolled her in sleep clinic prison. At the facility, her chronic months-long insomnia is observed by scads of doctors, but she is never actually treated for her dire disease. In a feat of desperation, Thora escapes and heads straight for New York City. Buried deep in the city’s underbelly, there is rumored to be a secret haven called the Insomniacs’ Café: a place where people like Thora can find relief.

As Thora joins forces with Aiden and Florence, two fellow insomniacs, their midnight quest will take them from the dusty bookshelves of The Strand, to the smokey underground clubs in the Lower East Side, to countless taxi and subway rides. Clues leading to their final destination are waiting for them at every turn. But so are Sleepers—a powerful core of sworn-enemies to all Insomniacs— who wish to see Thora and her friends destroyed at any cost.

What I liked: This book is very different from others that I’ve read that fall under the Sci-Fi genre. It has more to do with genetics and a new type of insomnia, one that comes in stages. This idea was very new to me, and very interesting to follow as I read this book, reading Thora as she tried to find the elusive and secretive Insomniac Cafe. I found the writing to be so captivating that I could imagine the scenes playing out in my head, and it kept my attention the entire time that I read it. It was fast paced in a way that made sense and flowed right, and kept me entertained and thrilled as I turned the pages. I especially liked the variety of the cast, each characters introduction was done in a way that showed who they were really quickly and easily. Even with that, the characters who stayed grew over the course of the book, maybe not a significant bit, but it was enough to notice. The ending, while hinted at when looking back on the story, actually really surprised me, and I really liked that!

What I didn’t like: Lucas is said to have a “British” accent, which doesn’t exist, just ask my co-blogger she’ll tell you, and she’s from Wales. British is just a references to the islands (i.e. British Isles) but there are specific accents to each country. I’m fairly sure what the author was meaning was one of the English accents, likely the stereotypical accent for all English people, BBC English (which according to my co-blogger is a very posh accent heard mostly on the radio) but there’s also the three others: Received PronunciationThe Queen’s English, and Public School English. So I mean, knowing this made it bother me a bit, but what bothered me more was that, Thora’s mental stability after so long without actual sleep should have made her have extreme emotions (some irrational even) when dealing with situations. Filters tend to turn off, and with so much strain on her mental state from being awake so long, losing something or someone they’re attached to would cause a very extreme irrationality. There were a few other, rather minor things that didn’t make sense to me, but its personal preference.

Overall Review: While this book had some things that bothered me, such as saying a character has a “British” accent and the lack of instability in Thora’s mental state that I thought she should have, overall this book has a unique and interesting concept that I can’t wait to see play out in the future books of this trilogy. It has some really good promise, and while I’m not exactly sure where this book will continue going into the second book, I’m definitely looking forward to it and seeing where it goes.

Recommend?: Yes indeed! It has a very strong concept with some interesting ideas that I really enjoyed!

Goodreads: 4/5 Amazon: 4/5

US Paperback | Amazon UK | UK Paperback

My Rating: 3.9/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 3.6
Idea: 4.1
Story: 4.2
Characters: 3.9

Check out the rest of the tour here!

authorphoto4

About the Author

Cady Vance is the author of YA and NA speculative fiction. After growing up in small-town Tennessee, she decided to embark on a grand adventure by packing up her bags and moving to NYC. Now, she studies for her PhD in the UK and dreams of seeing the universe.

Links:

Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

GIVEAWAY*!

Ends 23rd April, 2015

  • A paperback copy of Never Sleep by Cady Vance
  • A “Dreaming of New York” sleep mask

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Books and Ashes is not responsible for any lost, damaged, or unreceived materials that you may win. Books and Ashes does not handle the materials, or have any input on who receives a prize. In the case of a Books and Ashes Sponsored Giveaway Random.org will choose the winner. US and international followers eligible where applicable.

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

