The Monthly Newsletter: March 2015

The Monthly Newsletter

Welcome to The Monthly Newsletter brought to you by the bloggers of Books and Ashes! Each month we’ll have a general update about the blog and what we’re expecting to happen in the next month. We hope you’ll enjoy this feature and tell us what you think! We’d appreciate the chance to get to know our followers 🙂

General BloggingBri I took a little break from blogging for a bit this month, only posting when I needed to put up a review. This month was really stressful personally and I thought it would do me some good to step back a bit and relax. Next month will be more normalish for me with posting!

Discussions of the Month

I didn’t get the chance to write up the entire discussion post this month unfortunately, if I have time next month it should be up.

The Monthly Writer

What my brain wants to write: 3

What I need to write: 1

Bri I did both muse writing and necessary writing this month, which is a good thing and I really enjoyed my muse writing.

Assassin Iris I’ve spent most of this month writing away my muse for an RP group on Tumblr I’m fond of, so I’ve had a lot of fun between that and reading.

The Monthly Reader

I spent the month slow reading or reading whatever I fancied for the most part so it was really nice. Together though we still reviewed 34 books which isn’t all that bad, considering we read 40 total!

Favorites of the month:

The Problem with Crazy Eleven Weeks The Problem with Heartache Pretty Crooked Pretty Sly  Pretty Wanted Liars, Inc. Stones and Finger Bones

All of those were really good reads this month, especially the Crazy in Love series!

Also that journal I started last month? I couldn’t keep up with it at all. So I’m back to just winging my reviews but my new method is to write them after I finish the book immediately. We’ll see how well I keep up with that this coming month!

Last Month's Reviews

Covers lead to the review!

Helia's Shadow The lost prince The Ghost of You Prime The Resurrection of Aubrey Miller Gathering Frost The Stepsister's Tale The Curse Merchant The Curse Servant We Were Liars The Problem with Crazy The Cloak Empty Cup The Problem with Heartache Almost Loved One Great Year Pretty Crooked Wicked Sense Liars, Inc. Dissonance Wind Catcher The Soul Thief Shh! Proximity New Cover 2015 FRONT ONLY FireinFrost(2) The Escape Stones and Finger Bones

Challenge Updates

105 Challenge

Three months have absolutely flown by! Here’s where I stood last month on this challenge!

Books I’ve Never Read Set Outside The U. S. A.: 4/14

2015 New Releases: 13/13

Indie Books: 12/12

2014 New Releases: 11/11

Review Books (Ebook Or Physical): 3/10

Popular Books I’ve Never Read: 0/9

Re-Reads (Standalone Or Series Starters): 1/8

Dystopian Novels I’ve Never Read (But Really Wanted To): 3/7

Books I’ve Been Told To Read: 0/6

Jane Austen Novels: 0/5

Books Based Off Video Games/T. V. Series: 0/4

Books I’ve Won in Giveaway’s: 1/3

Series Read&Re-Read (3+ Books And Completed): 0/2

Book That Is 500+ Pages (New or ReRead): 0/1

My new numbers this month are *drumroll*

Books I’ve Never Read Set Outside The U. S. A.: 7/14

2015 New Releases: 13/13

Indie Books: 12/12

2014 New Releases: 11/11

Review Books (Ebook Or Physical): 8/10

Popular Books I’ve Never Read: 2/9

Re-Reads (Standalone Or Series Starters): 2/8

Dystopian Novels I’ve Never Read (But Really Wanted To): 3/7

Books I’ve Been Told To Read: 0/6

Jane Austen Novels: 0/5

Books Based Off Video Games/T. V. Series: 0/4

Books I’ve Won in Giveaway’s: 2/3

Series Read&Re-Read (3+ Books And Completed): 0/2

Book That Is 500+ Pages (New or ReRead): 0/1

I’ve finished 60 books for this challenge! While it means I only added another 12 to the list this month that’s a good amount!

60/105

NetgalleyEdelweissChallenge

My goal for this challenge is

Platinum (75 books)

I got to read a few more this month, not very many though.

Liars, Inc. Pretty Wanted Things We Know by Heart

Current count for this challenge

Edelweiss

4/?

NetGalley

4/?

Challenge

8/75

2015 Goodreads Challenge

With another 34 books added to the pile I can definitely believe that we’ll hit our goal, especially since Goodreads says we’re 37 reviews ahead of schedule! Even with my slacking quite a bit on this we still managed to stay way ahead, which is a great thing!

86/200

The Month Upcoming

 I have quite a few more review books coming up next month, and

 Solitaire

working on a review for it and a few others. I’m not totally sure how I feel about it still, because the beginning was a bit bland to me. We’ll see when my review is finished!

The Queen of Bright and Shiny Things and The Secrets of Attraction reviews are coming up close because I finished them not too long ago and I found both to be enjoyable reads. I can’t wait to share my thoughts with you guys!

So tell me, how was your month?

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

