Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes

Book Reviews

Liars, Inc.

Liars, Inc.
Paula Stokes
Releasing: 24th Marc, 2015
HarperTeen
Genre: Mystery, Contemporary
Age: Young Adult
From: Edelweiss

Summary:

For fans of Gone Girl, I Hunt Killers, and TV’s How to Get Away with Murder.

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about hooking him up. Until Preston never comes home. Then the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead the cops to Preston’s body. Terrifying clues that point to Max as the murderer.

Can Max find the real killer before he goes to prison for a crime he didn’t commit? In a story that Kirkus Reviews called “Captivating to the very end,” Paula Stokes starts with one single white lie and weaves a twisted tale that will have readers guessing until the explosive final chapters.

Content warning: references to usage of drugs in the past; some on page/past use of drugs; underage drinking; very unexplicit sex scenes

What I liked: Kirkus Reviews has it right. This book is captivating to the end because you want to find out what went so wrong and who’s framing Max for the murder of his friend. One lie weaved an entire tale of mystery that made me ask questions and try and read between the lines to dig out the clues, which even then what was really going on surprised me. I think my favorite part is how relatable the characters are, even Max! While I was back and forth about Pavarti’s character after Preston disappeared I liked how I could be suspicious of what she’s hiding but still also like her at the same time. Max’s family plays a good part in the story and they way Max interacts with them shows how he feels about the, even if he was adopted and hasn’t been with them for a very long time. Yet, as if they were Max’s real parents, they did what they could to help Max throughout the book and never waiver in how they think about them despite all the charges brought against Max.

What I didn’t like: I think I went in having pretty high hope about this book because of the Gone Girl tidbit, but the way the character who framed Max acted was a little too…well “mad villain” comes to mind. I was hoping the person would be more stoic and conniving like what I expect a sociopath to be like, but honestly the character just felt more psychotic with the way he acted at the end when he told Max what he had done. So that part let me down quite a bit.

Overall Review: Despite one part not living up to my expectations in the least I really found this book to be wholly entertaining while reading it and was reluctant to ever put it down. When I did, I picked it up again as soon as I had the chance to. While I was able to make a skeleton theory about what was really going on I found that only parts of my theory were right and other portions were wrong because there were some holes in my theory that I didn’t account for as I developed it originally. Nevertheless, I really enjoyed the characters and thought the twist to the story were well thought out and placed into the story.

Recommend?: Yes! I’m even adding a finished copy of Liars, Inc. to my wish list because I really liked this book. Plus there were apparently a ton of changes to the story after the ARC’s were given out so I’m sure the story will be a whole lot better than it already is. I can’t wait to read it again!

Goodreads: 3.9/5 Amazon: -/5 Barnes&Noble: -/5 BookDepository: -/5

Amazon US Hardcover | Amazon UK | Amazon UK Hardcover | Kobo

My Rating: 4.2/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 3.6
Idea: 4.3
Story: 4.6
Characters: 4.3

Paula Stokes

About the Author

Paula Stokes is half writer, half RN, and totally thrilled to be part of the world of YA literature. She started out writing historical fiction under a pen name and is now branching out into other YA genres.

When she’s not working (rare), she’s kayaking, hiking, reading, or seeking out new adventures in faraway lands. She’s petted tigers, snuggled snakes, snorkeled with stingrays, and once enjoyed the suction-cuppy feel of a baby elephant’s trunk as it ate peanuts from her palm. Her future goals include diving with Great White sharks, learning Krav Maga, and writing a whole slew of novels, not necessarily in that order.

Links:

Website | Goodreads | Twitter

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

