Almost Loved by Mira Toria

almost loved banner

Almost Loved

Almost Loved
Mira Toria
Published: 6th March, 2015
Genre: Romance
Age: New Adult
From: YA Bound Book Tours

Summary:

Falling in love is easy.

After Bradley, Lyris is convinced that love is temporary and the repercussions are permanent, but everything changes when she meets Hale. Falling in love with him begins as something tumultuous and unexpectedly effortless despite her resistance.

Lyris loves him.
Hale loves her.
Staying in love is hard.

As their pasts start to surface, how hard will they fight to stay together? Her ex holds a piece of her heart and he won’t give up without a fight – but that might not be necessary. Hale has a secret of his own that is enough to threaten everything before it even begins.

This isn’t just a love story.
This is their story.

What I liked: I gotta say, when I began to read Almost Loved I wasn’t expecting half of what happened and it sucked me in to the story so much that I went from casually reading the book when I started because I was hesitant due to the summary (come on guys, it screamed angst at me but still wanted to read it) but as I saw how hot and cold Lyris’ personality could be I was thrown for a loop and I thought that would be a negative thing, but eventually it made a lot more sense to me. I usually don’t try and guess what’s going to happen in a book, but with this one that’s what I spent a lot of time doing as I realized something was going to happen, and I wanted more pieces to fit into the puzzle about Lyris and Bradley, and even what Hale was keeping secret.

What I didn’t like: It’s not a real “dislike” its more of a “I really wanted more about all the characters” kind of situation. You get me? I just wanted to know more about the side characters, Evey especially because I liked her a lot.

Overall Review: I thought this book was, for the most part, different from the books I’ve read in the romance genre. I usually don’t apply “suspenseful” to the genre but this book has suspense in it which I liked, it left me with room for doubt about the outcome and rooting for what I wanted to happen before the story was over. It kept me glued to the page and I really enjoyed it!

Recommend?: Sure! It’s a great debut novel and I can’t wait to see what the author writes next!

Goodreads: 4/5 Amazon: 3/5

Amazon UK

My Rating: 4.2/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.1
Idea: 4.2
Story: 4.4
Characters: 4.2

Check out the rest of the tour here!

About the Author

Mira Toria is a a bit of a romantic even though she flat out denies it. She daydreams more often than she would like to admit and often times she can be found scribbling story ideas onto any writeable surface because a clean napkin comes to mind before her phone.

She is also 1/5th of MALICE Authors, a group of authors that have banded together with their love of story telling to bring together an array of stories.

Links:

WebsiteGoodreadsTwitterFacebook

GIVEAWAY*!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Books and Ashes is not responsible for any lost, damaged, or unreceived materials that you may win. Books and Ashes does not handle the materials, or have any input on who receives a prize. In the case of a Books and Ashes Sponsored Giveaway Random.org will choose the winner. US and international followers eligible where applicable.

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

