We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Book Reviews

We Were Liars

We Were Liars
E. Lockhart
Published: 13th May, 2014
Delacorte Press
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Age: Young Adult
From: Purchased via Amazon

Summary:

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

What I liked: This story wasn’t what I was expecting. I’ve seen a lot of negative reviews (I didn’t read them, I just looked at the rating since I planned on eventually reading it myself) and so I wasn’t really sure if I would actually like it or not, but it turns out that I really enjoyed this book! We Were Liars was actually something that I really liked. I found the way the wording of the book gave the the chance to imagine everything that was going on and it managed to surprise me with how dark it got. I was completely expecting something light and fun, maybe with a funny story or something about how they ended up called the Liars, but that never happened. It was so much more than that to me and I found myself flipping through the pages as quickly as possible. Cadence’s story kept me entertained and guessing, and I kept wondering about different things the other Liars were doing. Why they did this, or why they said that, and when Cadence began questioning I knew she was on the right track to finding something out, but what she ends up finding out was far from what I had expected. Gat was the one character who confused me the most during the story with the way he was towards Cadence and by the end I understood why he did what he did. Mirren was a character who I quite liked, and overall I found her to be really interesting, especially during summer seventeen.

What I didn’t like: Sometimes the writing would suddenly be chopped up, the sentences cut to contain several lines with just a few words of that sentence in each. While it wasn’t necessarily a bad thing, in fact I quite liked it in a way, it sometimes threw me off quite a bit and pulled me from the story.

Overall Review: This was a book that managed to surprise me from the start with how Cadence thinks and how the writing can be sometimes. Yes it’s chopped up in some places but it has more to do with symbolism than anything and I thought that was the best part. I liked how it took a while for Cadence to even realize something was really wrong and how it touched upon how money can destroy a family from within, and how racism is still even seen today. While it wasn’t touched upon a whole lot, the brief points where it was referenced was actually mostly done in a way that highlighted how people can actually see it and not always realize it. Overall though, the stories Cadence writes were my favorite parts for different reasons, but they all gave clues. Clues to what? You’ll need to read it to find out!

Recommend?: Why wouldn’t I recommend a book that managed to surprise me? I know it’s definitely not for everyone, but you should definitely give it a go if you’ve been thinking about it!

Goodreads: 3.9/5 Amazon: 4/5 Barnes&Noble: 4.3/5 BookDepository: 4.2/5

Amazon UK | Kobo

My Rating: 4.5/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.3
Idea: 4.6
Story: 4.7
Characters: 4.4

E Lockhart

About the Author

E. Lockhart is the author of We Were Liars, The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, The Boyfriend List and several other novels.

Links:

Website | Twitter | Goodreads | We Were Liars Website | Blog

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

