Prime by Windsor Harries

Book Reviews

Prime

Prime
Windsor Harries
Published: 7th December, 2014
Victor Publishing
Genre: Science Fiction
Age: Young Adult
From: Enchanted Book Promotions

Summary:

Since birth, Toch has prepared for his destiny: to become the Prime, the being who would save his race from the oppressive Spidon. Perfected over uncountable generations, the genetic power that will free them lies dormant until he reaches maturity. Until then, with the help of his friend and Protector, he needs to stay hidden—and safe—from the Spidon.
Everything goes according to the Plan, until a traitor reveals the truth about Toch, putting the future of their entire race in danger…

What I liked: This story had a twist that I wasn’t expecting with Luqas and Toch. Toch is hailed as the savior of the people the Spidon call “ants”, and while he can’t be openly rejoiced or he could be killed Toch knows what he was born to do, just like Luqas knows he was born to protect Toch. While I found the abilities that some people on this planet have interesting, I wish there had been more of those powers shown because I assume everyone has a different level of what they can do with these abilities. I just thought it would have been a really cool topic for the author to explore so I could further immerse myself in the setting.

What I didn’t like: I just felt like too much was crammed into a short story. It seemed hasty and I didn’t get the chance to connect with the characters, any of them. If it had been fleshed out into a full length novel I might have liked it a lot better than I did because then I could have seen more of the characters and decided on whether or not I even liked the characters. I’m more “meh” to them because I didn’t really get a whole sense of personality, I didn’t feel any real need to root for them. I wasn’t going to root for these people just because they’re being oppressed by off-world aliens, I wanted a real reason to cheer them on to victory over their oppressors. And I didn’t get that. Also, I don’t quite recall a name for the people on this planet or the planet itself, just that the enemies are called Spidon and apparently ugly outside of this suit of armor they wear while on the planet. Oh, and they apparently emit some kind of goo that stinks?

Overall Review: Not all that great, it had some interesting points and I think the author missed out on character growth and the ability to expand upon this world the Spidon’s have kept under their rule for centuries. I think a little backstory to the way the Spidon took over the planet as an introduction to the story would have been really neat, seeing how the people came up with the Plan and everything. It would have made for a real nice setup to the story. Other than that though, I wanted this story to be able to me me think about it again later on but I don’t think that’ll happen, because it was short and didn’t have the elements to keep me glued to the page throughout the story. It only got interesting towards the very end of the story after we learn something new about Luqas.

Recommend?: No, not really. I mean, don’t let me deter you from reading whatever you fancy but it just wasn’t good enough for me to recommend to anyone else personally.

Goodreads: 4/5 Amazon: 4.3/5

My Rating: 2.8/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 2.3
Idea: 3.6
Story: 2.8
Characters: 2.5

WH photo

About the Author

Windsor Harries was born and raised in Toronto, Canada in the heady years between TV’s heyday and the internet revolution. He has been writing ever since he can remember. His early influences include Edgar Rice Burroughs and Doctor Who (Tom Baker, of course). For his mild-mannered secret identity, he works as a marketer in the financial services industry. He had written numerous books, but Prime is his first published novel.

Links:

Website | Facebook | Goodreads

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

