Manga Classics: The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne adapted by Stacey King and Illustrator SunNeko Lee

Book Reviews

The Scarlet Letter

Manga Classics: The Scarlet Letter
Nathaniel Hawthorn adapted by Stacey KingIllustrated: SunNeko Lee
Releasing: 10th March, 2015
Udon Entertainment

Summary:

A powerful tale of forbidden love, shame, and revenge comes to life in Manga Classics: The Scarlet Letter. Faithfully adapted by Crystal Chan from the original novel, this new edition features stunning artwork by SunNeko Lee (Manga Classics: Les Miserables) which will give old and new readers alike a fresh insight into the Nathaniel Hawthorne’s tragic saga of Puritan America.

What I liked: I’ve never read The Scarlet Letter before, even though I have had a copy for three years. I bought a copy with the intent to read it and understand the movie Easy A because that movie references the book. So when I saw this I immediately wanted to read it. This isn’t my first Manga Classics, I’ve read most of them and really love the way they tell the story with enough of the original story that you understand it. This story was both sad and happy, watching the characters. Hester and Pearl were lovely and even though Hester was shunned for having a child out of wedlock she never let it show that it bothered her that because of her actions Pearl was shunned as well. Pearl herself was a very bright child, and even though she shocked the other members of the community with her words I was actually both a bit surprised and happy about that. There’s also plenty of symbolism in the story as well with different characters

What I didn’t like: I wish I knew why Hester didn’t give up the name of who the father of Pearl was, because even though you find out who it is I couldn’t understand (other than in the name of love) why she kept his name under lock and key.

Overall Review: With stunning artwork and a really good story that wasn’t confusing to me while reading it I thought it was a fun read that I read very quickly and loved. Even at a low resolution for the artwork it looked really good so I can’t wait to get my hands on an actual finished copy of this graphic novel! It’s made me want to pick up the original and see what gaps were left even though what we were given in this graphic novel was well strung together so as to not confuse readers.

Recommend?: For those who couldn’t for any reason get into the original this one is more visual and entertaining and also for those who just like reading graphic novel adaptions of books in general!

Goodreads: 3.5/5 Amazon: -/5 Barnes&Noble: -/5 BookDepository: -/5

My Rating: 4.1/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.2
Idea: 3.9
Story: 4.1
Character: 4.3

One response to “Manga Classics: The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne adapted by Stacey King and Illustrator SunNeko Lee

  1. Pingback: The Monthly Newsletter: February 2015 |

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

