Sleeping Tom by E. V. FairfallI

SleepinTomTourBanner2

Sleeping Tom

Sleeping Tom
E. V. Fairfall
Published: 14th February, 2015
R Mind

Summary:

Hitchhiking is a bad idea but Caden is desperate.

When she accepts a ride from the first car to come by she meets Gabriel. He’s her age, hot, and the closest thing she has to a savior. Problem is, he is a total jerk. With nowhere to go, Caden convinces Gabriel to let her stay with him for one night. He reluctantly lends a couch.

That night Caden wakes up to strange noises. Concerned, she rushes into Gabriel’s room, already anticipating his bad temper. Instead, he’s kind, sweet, and suspiciously harmless—nothing like the man who gave her a ride. He seems like a different person altogether, and claims he is. By night he is Tom, and by day he is Gabriel. Caden finds herself drawn to the mysteries hidden in his eyes.

For Gabriel, Caden is an annoying mistake. One night turns into many, and despite all his anger towards her, she stays. She even seems to accept him and his flaws, but he still doesn’t trust her—is she staying for him, or has she already discovered more than he’s willing to share?

What I liked: One of the biggest things that both surprised me and pleased me with this novel was the depth and clear amount of research that E. V. Fairfall put into knowing and sharing what she learned about dissociative identity disorder (multiple/split personality disorder). As someone who has seen how it happens first hand to people with this disorder, I was also pleased to see how Fairfall orchestrated the switch between Gabriel and Tom though there was a slight negative to it as well. Going into the book my biggest concern was something being shown inaccurately (the switch, how the identities are, their prefences. This was one of the key selling points to me because of my personal connection to this disorder. I really liked the character’s as well for most of the book, while they had moments where I really didn’t like them but there wete times I did.

What I didn’t like: I don’t understand still why Caden had to be so aggressive and mean to Angelica. Sure, in a sense I understood why she was jealous of her, but as Angelica showed how good of a person she was when it came to people she cared about. Since Caden hadn’t ever seen that she should have been at least a little surprised and wanted to know her better or try and figure out why she really disliked her. Also, the switching when sleeping was a little generic to me. The few DID people I know have switches caused by certain emotions or situtions that cause one of the others to basically come out (each has at least 3 personalities total), and so I thought the sleep thing was a little generic to me.

Overall Review: I found this book to be a nice read, even though I had a few problems with it. It was eengaging enough for me to read most of it in one sitting as I tried my best to piece everything that happened to Gabriel that resulted in Tom. I also really thought the cover played nicely into the story with Caden, it had a certain feel to it that went well to it.

Recommend?: Yeah, it was a nice read that I liked quite a bit!

Goodreads: 4.4/5 Amazon: 4.5/5

My Rating: 3.7/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.1
Idea: 3.9
Story: 3.4
Characters: 3.6

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About the Author

I love to write just as much as I love to read. I try to read a book per week, which doesn’t always work out, but it’s the thought that counts. Aside from all that I am a huge animal person.

Transformed is my first novel, but it isn’t my first publication; I’ve had several short stories published over the last two years. My main goal as a writer is to explore humanity and to give people something fun to read.

Links:

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

GIVEAWAY*!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Books and Ashes is not responsible for any lost, damaged, or unreceived materials that you may win. Books and Ashes does not handle the materials, or have any input on who receives a prize. In the case of a Books and Ashes Sponsored Giveaway Random.org will choose the winner. US and international followers eligible where applicable.

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

