All That Burns by Ryan Graudin

Book Reviews

All That Burns

All That Burns (All That Glows #2)
Ryan Graudin
Published: 10th Febraury, 2015
HarperTeen

Summary:

In this thrilling sequel to All That Glows, the worlds of magic and mortal are colliding as London celebrates its new king, marking an era of unity between the Faery realm and the human one. Emrys, the Faery guard to the British royal family, sacrificed her powers to be with King Richard, choosing love over immortality. But now, as Emrys struggles to navigate her place between the Faery queen’s court and London’s lavish galas, danger looms beyond the Thames.When a prisoner with dark, strange magic breaks out of Queen Titania’s labyrinthine prison, endangering Emrys’s king and sparking an uprising, Emrys must make the hardest decision of all.

Will she reclaim her magic to save Richard’s life and lose him forever? Or stay powerless as the kingdom goes down in flames?

What I liked: The parallels to Camelot were my favorite portion, even though I was (basically) yelling at Emrys to make good choices. There was so much tension in this story with Emrys quest to save Richard, because she basically has the entire city of London after her not only because of the changes that are happening that people hate, but also because of the fact the people are blaming the Fae with the kidnapping of Richard. There’s plenty of clues laid throughout the story that are well hidden about what’s really happening, although the prisoner from the labyrinthine prison was someone I never guessed until they were revealed, and from there everything started to speed to the end in a great pace. I also enjoyed meeting more of the magical beings of the hidden realm. Ad-hen were certainly very interesting and I really liked their place in the novel as well as the riddles we were given to figure out who was behind everything that was happening. I really enjoyed how much more we got to know Annabelle in this one too, but I did feel bad for her near the end. I also thought Emrys conflicting feelings about her loss of powers was believable, it’s all she’s ever known and suddenly she’s basically powerless and completely mortal. Of course, Herne does make an appearance and that causes more conflict for her, and that was something I really enjoyed.

What I didn’t like: The beginning was pretty slow for me, and the prisoner part seemed very convenient (although this part became very important to the plot later on). There were some things that were obvious about the book here and there but not glaringly big so while some things were easy to guess, sometimes I wasn’t always right about my guesses.

Overall Review: As wonderfully entertaining of a read as All That Glows was, I found All That Burns to be even more captivating and entertaining a read that was full of twist that made me question about what was going to happen and surprised me along the way. Each of the characters, including our Ad-hen that help, were characters who had depth and personalities that I really liked. Annabelle even became more of a full-fledged character with her growth over the book and I ended up liking her even more than I already did in All That Glows! If there is a third one that comes out I’ll definitely look into getting a copy of it too!

Recommend?: Even more so than the first! Take a chance and read this book because I really liked it!

Goodreads: 3.9/5 Amazon: 4.3/5 Barnes&Noble: 4.5/5 BookDepository: -/5

My Rating: 4.5/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.7
Idea: 4.2
Story: 4.5
Characters: 4.7

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

