All That Glows by Ryan Graudin

Book Reviews
All That Glows

All That Glows (All That Glows #1)
Ryan Graudin
Published: 11th February, 2014
HarperTeen
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Age: Young Adult
From: Paperback won via giveaway

Summary:

Emrys—a fiery, red-headed Fae—always embraced her life in the Highlands, far from the city’s draining technology, until she’s sent to London to rejoin the Faery Guard. But this isn’t any normal assignment—she’s sent to guard Prince Richard: Britain’s notorious, partying bad boy and soon-to-be King. The prince’s careless ways and royal blood make him the irresistible for the dark spirits that feed on mortals. Sweet, disheveled, and alive with adventure—Richard is one charge who will put Emrys’s magic and heart to the test.

When an ancient force begins preying on the monarchy, Emrys must hunt through the London’s magical underworld, facing down Banshees, Black Dogs and Green Women to find the one who threatens Richard’s life. In this chaos of dark magic, palace murders and paparazzi, Emrys finds herself facing an impossible choice. For despite all her powers, Emrys has discovered a force that burns brighter than magic: love.

What I liked: I think my favorite part was how Graudin came up with an explanation about why older Fae couldn’t be near cities and how the modern world affects the Fae, no matter their age. I also think it’s interesting that even though Emrys is clearly at least a few thousand years old (she’s older than the legendary kingdom of Camelot by a bit) but among the Fae she’s considered young. Which, when you’re eternal and never age and dying is (I suppose) a very hard process to do that would seem young. Emrys herself though was a character I really liked. Selfish and a bit self-centered at times, yes, but those flaws are her most apparent and make her relatable in the way that those traits show. Richard seemed very much the party-boy in the beginning but it isn’t long before we see more to Richard than just his partying ways and he started to shine as a character who I could care about. I thought the writing was very elegant and even though there are quite a bit of similes and metaphors I thought they worked and it flowed in an enjoyable way for me. The romance itself was cute, and I found that I really liked the way Emrys and Richard balanced and fit each other.

What I didn’t like: Everything seemed to wrap up very neatly and I still don’t understand why it ended so neatly. And I never got the sense that any of the other Fae got the sickness that technology causes the Fae, but maybe that was because we didn’t see them all that often outside a few brief moments?

Overall Review: Although I had a few hangups about some points in the plot, I found it very engaging and didn’t want to put the book down while reading it. It’s fast-paced, has interesting characters that are also complex, and some twist outcomes that I found unexpected. There are a few things that can be left open to interpretation in Emrys’ actions and reactions to different things and those can be taken in the wrong way, making her seem like a terrible character but honestly I liked the way it was open and took it the way I thought made sense. Sure the imagery from the metaphors in this book can be a bit over the top but I like to think Emrys just thinks that way because I do the same when I don’t pay attention. Anabelle was a character who I was a bit back and forth on but I really liked her by the end. She’s fierce and fun while also knowing how to keep a public appearance look very professional and regal in her own way.

Recommend?: I ended up really enjoying this story and though there are plenty of reason some people won’t like it I think you should give it a chance!

Goodreads: 3.5/5 Amazon: 3.5/5 Barnes&Noble: 4.1/5 BookDepository: 4/5

My Rating: 4.3/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 3.9
Idea: 4.2
Story: 4.6
Characters: 4.5

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

