How I Fall – How I Fly by Anne Eliot

How-I-fly-1

How I Fall

How I Fall (How I Fall – How I Fly #1)
Anne Eliot
Published: 15th June, 2014
Butterfly Books, LLC
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Age: Young Adult
From: I Am A Reader Tours

Summary:

*WHAT IF YOU HAD AN IMPOSSIBLE CRUSH?*

Impossible because she’s Ellen Foster. The beautiful, smart, and possibly fragile photography-girl. You’re Cam Campbell. The guy who plays football 24/7 with no life. But what if during junior year, you decide to finally try for her phone number—until this glitter-crazed new girl ruins your plan. Worse, the girl is Irish, awkward, and insists you and Ellen should become best friends—with her! Only, you don’t want to be friends with a human tornado, and you think Ellen might need to stay a crush. This is because after one interaction you’ve discovered Ellen Foster really is fragile. Your problems and secrets are too big for anyone to understand.

*WHAT IF YOU COULDN’T RESIST?*

But what if the three of you wind up assigned to a group photography project, where rumors are already circling about the new girl being ridiculous? You know she’s nice but very alone, so you convince your crush to help protect the new girl. Suddenly, working on the project makes hanging out, texting, talking—and even high school—seem fun and completely normal when it’s anything but normal.

*WHAT IF YOU KISS*

What if you kiss Ellen Foster and it’s perfect enough to make you believe in things you shouldn’t. You tell her secrets and share your dreams. You make the kinds of promises and create plans to be together that might be impossible to keep when you’re only sixteen and your parents control your entire future,
but…

*WHAT IF YOU HURT HER…*

Content warning: physical assault; bullying; domestic violence

What I liked: I really enjoyed the characters in this one, especially Laura. Laura was quirky and funny in her own way and I laughed more than once in her introduction to the story. She made it fun and lighthearted when she was in the scenes and I just really enjoyed her, plus I couldn’t get her accent out of my head when I was reading her lines! I think it gave her a bit of her own personality to the story. Patrick was a wonderful friend to Ellen too, he was supportive and never wanted her to feel alone or left out for any reason despite Ellen having cerebral palsy. Yet despite having CP, Ellen is strong and determined to show everyone that just because she has CP doesn’t mean she should be left out. Yeah sometimes she has bad days with CP but she wants to show everyone that she can have CP and live just like anyone else and that made me root for her even more! She wasn’t a quitter, she was a fighter. And I adored that about Ellen. Cam himself is a sweet guy, always looking out for Ellen now that they’re actually talking. And the twist about him though was something I did not expect and he’s even stronger of a character because of what he goes through. Also, Ellen adores photography, and I thought that was super interesting because photography is an amazing hobby to have, and it means so much to Ellen. Especially winter photography.

What I didn’t like: The ending. I really didn’t understand how everyone was okay with beating up on the girl who physically can’t defend herself and that no one seemed to come to her rescue to try and defend her or at least see what was going on. Also, most guys that I know on a football team wouldn’t dare lay a harmful hand on a girl, much less one that has a physical handicap. It goes against most men’s moral code to hit any girl so that really made me do a double take about the story. Plus, Cam’s parents were a bit over the top to me, I could see them talking horribly about Ellen and her CP when she isn’t around because I know adults do that to people, but I really just can’t fathom them doing what they did. Or everyone blaming Cam.

Overall Review: With a wonderful start to the book and everything being so cute and sweet I found that this was an enjoyable read that I liked quite a lot up until the very end when Ellen was assaulted for no real reason other than her CP. There was a huge cliffhanger ending as well about what might happen to these two. So while I loved the friendships this story showed and thought the romance between Ellen and Cam was completely adorable at points, I did have some problems with the story.

Recommend?: Sure, if you like romance you’ll love the romance between Cam and Ellen. It’s super cute!

Goodreads: 4.1/5 Amazon: 4.8/5 Barnes&Noble: 4/5 BookDepository: 5/5

My Rating: 3.9/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 3.8
Idea: 4.1
Story: 3.7
Characters: 4.3

How I Fly

How I Fly (How I Fall – How I Fly #2)
Anne Eliot
Published: 2nd January, 2015
Butterfly Books, LLC
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Age: Young Adult
From: I Am A Reader Tours

Summary:

*What if it’s time to move on?*

Over six months after an accident that broke her legs as well as removed her boyfriend from her life—because Cam Campbell left town and dumped her—high school senior, Ellen Foster, wants to move past her broken heart. She’s off to attend a summer photography workshop at a real university along with her best friends. Ellen’s determined to find a new love—or at least a summer boyfriend. In the dorm, she meets Harrison Shaw. He’s a handsome photography student, a charmer who likes her, and a perfect way to forget her past.

*What if it all goes perfectly?*

Ellen thinks she has everything she wants. Her summer program couldn’t be better. She’s half in love with Harrison Shaw, and she’s going after her next scholarship. But when she kisses Harrison, she can only remember how Cam Campbell used kiss her better, sweeter, and how he used to make her feel like she could fly…

*What if something’s not right?*

When Cam shows up at the university it’s a shock, especially to Ellen’s new boyfriend. Cam’s distant, different and very afraid to hurt Ellen again. He asks Ellen if they could be friends despite the past and how they’ve both changed and Ellen agrees. But after all they’ve been through, can Cam and Ellen ever be just friends?

*What if…?*

Content warning: slight innuendos (nothing extreme); some light swearing

What I liked: I like seeing what’s happened to Ellen and how she’s trying to move on from what happened at the end of the first book and so for a while I rooted for her when she met a new guy and started to really like him. And then Cam’s side was interesting to read at times to see what was happening with him. I also loved the fact Patrick and Laura were shown again in this story, because I really enjoyed those two in the first book so I was happy to see them!

What I didn’t like: This book was way more focused on the romance than it was on Ellen and her struggle to cope with her life with CP, which was what made me really root for her in the first book.  I loved that part about the first book. Plus, the “villain” of the story was not only obvious, but when the reveal came for the “villain” is was cheesy in the sense that the “villain” felt flat and generic and they felt…stereotypical villain. That’s the best way I can describe that.

Overall Review: I liked seeing how Ellen is growing from the incident at the end of the first book and how Cam was doing. Even though for a while I wasn’t sure about where I sat on their romance I was never really invested in Ellen’s relationship with Harrison, but it was sweet for a while. This also is a little more mature in some of the dialogue between the characters than the first book but it isn’t anything that would put me off recommending it to someone a couple years older than my twelve year-old niece.

Recommend?: I really enjoyed this book, and while some parts made me role my eyes it was nice to see how everything happened after the way How I Fall ended.

Goodreads: 4.1/5 Amazon: 4.9/5 Barnes&Noble: -/5 BookDepository: -/5

My Rating: 3.6/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 3.9
Idea: 3.9
Story: 3.4
Characters: 3.2

Anne-Eliot

About the Author

Anne Eliot is the author of the, How I Fall/How I Fly two book series, and bestselling, young adult teen issue romances, Almost and Unmaking Hunter Kennedy. She loves writing about teens who live outside the ordinary and she’s devoted to stories about teens who live outside the ordinary but who also get to find sweet first kisses and first loves.

Anne resides in Colorado with a very patient husband, two teens of her own whom she adores (an some teens near and far thanks to hosting many exchange students) who are all growing up too fast.

Links:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Tumblr

GIVEAWAY*!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Books and Ashes is not responsible for any lost, damaged, or unreceived materials that you may win. Books and Ashes does not handle the materials, or have any input on who receives a prize. In the case of a Books and Ashes Sponsored Giveaway Random.org will choose the winner. US and international followers eligible where applicable.

One response to “How I Fall – How I Fly by Anne Eliot

  1. Pingback: Blast & Tour Sign Ups - How I Fall & How I Fly by Anne Elliot - I Am A Reader

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

