The Rise by Julie Plec

Book Reviews

The Rise; The Originals

The Rise (The Originals #1)
Julie Plec
Published: 27th January, 2015
HQN Books

Summary:

Family is power. The Original vampire family swore it to each other a thousand years ago. They pledged to remain together always and forever. But even when you’re immortal, promises are hard to keep.

Arriving in New Orleans in 1722, Original vampire siblings Klaus, Elijah and Rebekah Mikaelson believe they’ve escaped their dangerous past. But the city is lawless, a haven for witches and werewolves unwilling to share territory. The siblings are at their mercy…especially after Klaus meets the beautiful and mysterious Vivianne. Her impending marriage is key to ending the war between the supernatural factions—and Klaus’s attraction to her could destroy the uneasy alliance. As Elijah works toward securing a piece of the city for his family, and Rebekah fights her unexpected feelings for a French captain, will Klaus’s volatile desires bring their world crashing down—and tear them apart for good?

What I liked: I really liked the writing, it flowed really well and I found myself enthralled by the book. Sure every now and again I found that I could put it down, but only after finishing one more chapter and when I did I only spent a few minutes before I picked it up again to continue on! This book was really fast-paced, and there was always something going on that surprised me about the characters, especially the French captain and Vivianne. They were a lot more interesting than I went in believing they would be. And New Orleans had history from before the Mikaelson siblings came to town, there’s bad blood between the witches and werewolves of the city and though we don’t learn much about it or really see it you can tell by the way the witches and the werewolves treat each other. The romance was nice, and while it played a large role in the happenings of the novel it really wasn’t an in-your-face kinda thing. Each of the characters has their own flaws that tended to shine (Rebekah’s main flaw could be a problem for some if they don’t realize it’s part of who she is) and it is those flaws that I found very entertaining about each of them. While Klaus is power hungry and out to make an empire out of a city, Elijah just wants a safe place for the family.

What I didn’t like: Klaus said he was building an empire at one point to both Elijah and Rebekah, so I think he had an ulterior motive to letting her leave the city near the end of the book because if you’re building an empire and there’s only three vampires in the entire city, I really doubt that you’re going to let one walk away because of something that happened. Also, I’m curious about what happened to the coffins with the other two in it, I wasn’t given that information at the end when I wanted to know what had happened to them.

Overall Review: While I have yet to see the series, I think these books set up a wonderful background about the characters and who they are. The individual agendas of each of the characters as the story moves along and their actions all influence what ends up happening, and even the side characters have their own importance that I hadn’t expected. Each of the characters seemed to be their own and come alive in their own way, and while I question some of the motives that the characters had specifically that we didn’t see get made, they were well done nevertheless. I did read the excerpt for The Loss that was at the end and I’m very curious as to how that whole scenarios was even allowed to happen. Will it be explained about how everything ended up the way it did after the end of The Rise? I hope so, because I really want to know how one group ended up all the way in the bayou and basically banished from the city when I’m sure they have the abilities to stay in the city if they had wanted to.

Recommend?: If you’re curious about the Originals and their coming to the city of New Orleans you should read it! It’s a really good book and I really enjoyed it!

Goodreads: 4/5 Amazon: 3.9/5 Barnes&Noble: 4/5 BookDepository: -/5

My Rating: 4/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.5
Idea: 3.5
Story: 3.7
Characters: 4.3

Review by Bri

Bri

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

