Dewi and the Seeds of Doom by Maggie Lyons

Book Reviews

Dewi and the Seeds of Doom

Dewi and the Seeds of Doom
Maggie Lyons
Published: October 2012
Halo Publishing International

Summary:

When Dewi is clobbered by a falling rat, the nosy Welsh dragon snoops his way into a challenging predicament. Helped by a toad with a passion for chemical wart cures, Dewi discovers that a megalomaniac baron is secretly breeding mutant corn at an unfriendly castle. To thwart the genetically modified-corn baron’s sickening plan, he must use moxie and firepower in a series of catastrophe-skirting capers.

What I liked: This is a short and very cute story that I read to my nephew who seemed very entertained by this book. It has a cast of characters from a Welsh dragon named Dewi, to a goat named Billy Know-All and each of them are interesting in different ways. Dewi goes out of his way to help a rat he names Bomber after Bomber falls out of the sky. It takes a while to get to the point and this is the classic good vs. evil plot which is perfect for children. The descriptions are well done and painted a great image for both my nephew and I while reading it. My nephew really enjoyed the way things were described and while I found them a little corny I thought they worked well for this book.

What I didn’t like: I found some of the vocabulary a little more advanced for someone my nephew’s age (he’s almost six) so I did have to explain a few words to him. The humor was a little dry to me and didn’t really make my nephew laugh about it even though he laughed at a few other things.

Overall Review: With only minor setbacks about the book this is an entertaining read for young children. I think this would work well as a quick bedtime story as it took us only half an hour to read this and it kept my nephew’s attention for most of the time.

Recommend?: Certainly, this would be good for parents to read to their children or for young readers!

Goodreads: 4.3/5 Amazon: 4.5/5 Barnes&Noble: 4.5/5 BookDepository: 5/5

My Rating: 3.8/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 3.9
Idea: 3.7
Story: 3.8
Characters: 3.9

2 responses to “Dewi and the Seeds of Doom by Maggie Lyons

  1. Pingback: Book Review Blitz Wrap-Up: Dewi and the Seeds of Doom by Maggie Lyons | Mother Daughter Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: The Monthly Newsletter: January 2015 | Books and Ashes

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

