Just Perfect by Hanne Arts

Book Reviews

Just Perfect

Just Perfect
Hanne Arts
Published: 1st December, 2014
CreateSpace

Summary:

When sixteen-year-old Christina Jacobs comes to school one day and discovers that life will never be the same again, she soon finds herself sinking away into self-doubt, haunted by her troubled thoughts and experiences and striving for acceptance and equality.

Fate was never easy on her, having given her an appearance far from desirable and a family situation far from the norm, but when she is forced to face it all on her own, forced to battle her inner demons, she knows she needs to give all she’s got to fight her way back to the surface and get her life back on track.

“Just Perfect” is a grippingly honest account of love and friendship, betrayal and trust, and inner demons and the fight for a better tomorrow.

Content Warning: Mentions and somewhat light descriptions of self-harm; eating disorders;


So, I have to do this review in a different way than usual simply because of the book itself and what it contains. Because, with the normal review style I can’t mention some things since they were neither good, nor bad. In the normal style, there would be an overwhelming amount of negative things because this book just did not sit right with me and the way it was done.

Mostly, I found the book to be bland and unoriginal. The main character, Christina, first deals with a “friend” who puts her down and turns everyone against her when she thinks Christina has “betrayed” her over a test. One, that is extremely drastic measures for someone to take over a test. Two, if someone is that nasty to you on a regular basis how could you remain friends with them? It made very little sense to me, and left a bad taste in my mouth because it seemed very extreme. Not to mention I felt like the beginning was construed in a way just to make Christina do what she does without any other purpose. The characters didn’t really stand out and I felt the book was too short to convey the story that it had so it proceeded in a clunky manner for me.

Then, we have adults that were missing when they should have been nearby at school. Teachers and administrators are never very far away from students no matter where you look during school hours and while everyone is leaving. So what happened to Christina, would never have actually been allowed to happen because the moment teachers and administrators sensed the potential for a fight by the gathering group of students they would have broken it up. I also didn’t really get the feeling of Christina’s descent in how she thought or her recovery. She didn’t really seem to act too differently and there was so much time skipping in the book that everything pretty much felt glossed over for the most part.

There were a few points that made me feel uncomfortable in a way that almost made me put the book down and not pick it back up, and that was the point where it talks about Christina and her self-harm. I know that it’s a good thing that it got a reaction out of me but it was such a negative feeling that if I had found another point that it talked about her self-harm like that again I wouldn’t have been able to stomach it and would have dropped it. Also, needles since I have a big fear of them but that’s not really a thing that had any impact since needles make me uncomfortable on a daily basis when they’re mentioned. Needles freak me out, plain and simple.

Anorexia is something that is a big deal, but I didn’t really feel that since it’s really not talked about in a way that makes me worry about it. It wasn’t something that seemed very terrible and her recovery process was something I wanted to endure with her but I felt deprived of that since there is no real focus around it. It’s just a lot of time skipping, and stuff. Plus, what kind of ending is the one we are given? I didn’t believe the chemistry because I didn’t hardly see the two characters interact, and seeing them interact with one another would have helped make it be more believable.

Basically, this book was a huge letdown for me and I really, really did not like it. I didn’t hate, it has potential if it’s revised more and lengthened so we can connect more with Christina and her plight. But with the way it is now I’m glad I did a review opp for it and not paid for it because it’s not something I would pay for now that I see how it is. It just isn’t ready for being out in the eye of the public in my opinion and needs more revision so it works better.

Goodreads: 4.3/5 Amazon: 4.8/5 Barnes&Noble: -/5 BookDepository: -/5

CreateSpace

My Rating: 1.8/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 2.3
Idea: 2.2
Story: 1.2
Characters: 1.6


hannearts

About the Author

My name is Hanne Arts and I’m an eighteen-year-old budding author, currently in my last year of High School (IB). I moved to Slovakia one and a half years ago, before which I lived in Hungary and, earlier still, Holland and Belgium.

Writing has been my passion since I was seven years old, and I am proud to announce that I have recently made the big step into the publishing of my first full-length novel entitled “Just Perfect.” For over two years, I had been working and reworking this story, which finds its roots in the difficult times I have gone through. Feeling the need to help others through the sharing of my personal struggles – experienced by so many others as well – I believe it would be incredible to share my work with the largest audience possible.

Before the publishing of my book, I participated three times in Short Story Competition Hungary, for which I received the Short List Award in 2011, Honorable Mention in 2012, and Second Place in 2013. I was shortlisted in the Nancy Thorp Poetry Competition in 2013 and Junior Author Short Story Competition in 2014.

Links

Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Website

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

