Unnatural Selection by Victoria Escobar

Unnatural Selection Tour

Unnatural Selection front

Unnatural Selection
Victoria Escobar
Published: 4th November, 2014
CreateSpace

Summary:

I had no name. My assignment was M001/A5. Marpesia Project Test One, Fifth Embryo. I wasn’t considered human. I was a thing to be owned.

I just wanted freedom. I wanted out of the lab and away from being the guinea pig for hundreds of scientists. I wanted to see the world with my eyes not through a computer monitor.

Instead I took two bullets, fell from twenty stories and ran to save my life. From who and what I had no idea and that wasn’t important at the time. Life was important.

I had my freedom but no idea what to do with it. There’s no way to out run the past, and I had to face it. There were too many strings loose and too many people that would be more than happy to lock me in a cage again.

Life was an evolution of natural selection but thanks to human intervention I was Unnatural. I would be deciding who to allow living, and who needed to die.

What I liked: I really liked Charlotte, or as she’s known to those in the lab M001/A5. Treated as less than a human, but something that’s only worth money to the company that biologically engineered her all she wanted was to be free from the confines of the lab that she was raised in and treated by most as just an experiment. I thought that Charlotte was rather brave to leave the only place she ever knew and escape to find a better life. All Charlotte had ever known was the building she was raised in, so even just leaving the building put her in unfamiliar territory from the start. I’m not sure how she managed to navigate around the city since she never left the building (and mind you, this building is in New York City the one place where if you don’t know the city you can take one wrong turn and get lost for ages), but I suspect somehow she managed to get directions for where she wanted to go. Maybe?

What I didn’t like: It would have been nice if there was more tension and suspense in the final chapters where Charlotte has her “final showdown” with the people hunting her down to bring her back to the facility she escaped. There was also a lot of hopping in the beginning with her escape where she travels from city to city as quickly as she can across the country to try and throw them off her trail the best she can. Plus, when you’re trying to escape and fade into the background and be untraceable you pay everything you purchase with cash so you don’t leave an electronic trail. Charlotte should have thought about that when she was planning her escape.

Overall Review: I really enjoyed seeing how Charlotte came to adapt to life outside the building after she manages to find a place to stay. I was expecting a different outcome because of the way the tarot cards seemed to read, but I wasn’t completely let down by what happened. I feel like there’s an opening for a second book at the end since we meet a character who only shows up for a little while and there’s also the fact that Charlotte is still hiding from the people who run the lab. Charlotte herself though is human in every sense that we think of except that she wasn’t technically “born.” She grows, she learns, she makes mistakes, she makes bad choices. She is flawed just like any human, and that is what makes the people who engineered her wrong. Just because she was engineered to be what she is doesn’t mean she’s not human. And the morality of it all was something that makes you think about what if something like this did happen. It could be a terrible thing morally, but unless the human escaped no one outside the company would be any the wiser. I still feel though like all the characters have a long way to go with changing and growing in the future so if there is a second book in the works then it should be more interesting than I expect.

Recommend?: Yes! All of Victoria Escobar’s books have been very good reads and I’ve enjoyed them. I’m ready to read my final one from her and then eagerly await whatever she puts out next!

Goodreads: 4.3/5 Amazon: 5/5 Barnes&Noble: -/5 BookDepository: -/5

Smashwords

My Rating: 3.6/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 3.6
Idea: 3.7
Story: 3.5
Characters: 3.6

Victoria Escobar

About the Author

Born in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, but with the ability to claim eight states as home; Victoria Escobar writes fiction from her current home in New York. She writes whatever comes to mind and because of such has a variety of genres written including Young Adult, New Adult, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, and Contemporary Fiction.

In spare time if not with family, and friends Victoria enjoys curling up with a book from a favorite author with music playing. If not reading or writing she spends time drawing, sketching, crocheting, or some other random art project. She enjoys staying busy, but most of all enjoys staying creative.

Links:

Facebook | Goodreads | Tumblr | Website | Twitter

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

