My Demonic Ghost series by Jacinta Maree

Hunters & Creators Tour

Banished Spirits

My Demonic Ghost: Banished Spirits (My Demonic Ghost #1)
Jacinta Maree
Published: 16th July, 2012
Darkest Night Publishing
Genre: Paranormal
Age: Young Adult
From: Girls *Heart* Books Tour

Summary:

Rachael has traveled to Whitehaven to visit her father, a trek she can not help but dread given his recent descent into madness. Upon her arrival she realizes his deterioration has not only been mental, it’s been physical as well. His death comes as no surprise, but what she discovers soon after, is shocking when his burden becomes hers.

Lock is a banished spirit who must attach himself to a human host in order to hide from those who would drag him back to hell to be destroyed. When he meets Rachael he finds more than a host, he finds an ally.

Together they must defeat each of the seven sins in order to guarantee Lock’s safe passage into the Third Realm, a loophole in creation that would allow him to escape hell and have peace at long last. Through their unlikely friendship, other banished spirits flock to them in hopes of a peace they hadn’t dreamt possible.

What I liked: This book was wholey different from what I had expected when I started this book. Everything was different, from the characters, to how it began, to how it ended, and everything in between. I can’t even tell you what I actually had expected from this book based off of the summary other than what I got in return for reading it was entirely different from my impression. While the story does talk the afterlife with the concepts of heaven and hell and a Third Realm (which, I guess could be sort of the equivalent to Purgatory but at the same time not?) the who religious aspect is sidestepped for the most part so there’s not too much toe-stepping here, which is a plus for anyone who wants to read it. I loved the scenes with the Sins, they were different and the way the settings for the different Sins was done was complementary to each of the seven and some of my favorite scenes. I really liked seeing the dynamics of the relationship between Lock and and Rachael change over the book. This book was not only exhilarating with how everything came together and changed, but a tad tragic with how one sees it will likely end for both Lock and Rachael.

What I didn’t like: I’m a chapter based reader, so if I want a break in a story I’ll read all the way to the end of a chapter and put it down before doing what I need to next. Yet, the chapters in this were very long so I had to put it down halfway through a chapter when there would have been a spot I thought would work well as a place for the chapter to end and begin a new one. So, putting down the book in the middle of a chapter I would lose my place on the page and have to reread a bit to figure out not only what’s going on again, but where I left off to continue. It was a tiny bit tedious for me. There were also places where some of the wording was weird or I felt that the spelling was off but then again I’m not quite sure it was? Terribly confused about that still, and I’m an English major of all things! Bit of a conundrum if you ask me.

Overall Review: While a lot darker than I had originally thought, this was a very good story that flowed very well and characters who developed over time as the story went on. Rachael was a very strange character in how she was able to deal with so much that was thrown at her, but when her father died it didn’t really seem to have much thought when it happened. Of course, you know there was the fact she had many other things she needed to do at the same time which could be attributed, but I thought it was very late for her to grieve when she finally did. Lock on the other hand I thought changed very quickly in the beginning, but it was several things that showed me that it took a lot longer for him to change, mainly through his actions and the way he said things. In the beginning he was kind of cruel, and while this lessens drastically early on he does show how little he thinks of Rachael because she’s a Host. The way he changed from the time the journey starts to its end is easy to see, and it worked well into his development as a character.

Recommend?: Indeed I would! This was a very interesting story and I really enjoyed it overall.

Goodreads: 4.4/5 Amazon: 4.6/5 Barnes&Noble: 5/5 BookDepository: 5/5

Smashwords | Trailer

My Rating: 4.2/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 3.6
Idea: 4.3
Story: 4.6
Characters: 4.4

The Reapers

The Reapers (My Demonic Ghost #2)
Jacinta Maree
Published: 17th September, 2013
Staccato Publishing

Summary:

The day you die is meant to be the end, but for 18 year old Jordon Hastings, his death was only the beginning.

In a dark and twisted world, lost spirits known as Reapers remain behind after death to help collect the spirits from the realm of the living. A new Reaper, Jordon struggles to accept his fate and lingers in the shadows of his mortal life. But when a demon wolf starts to live through his shadow, hunting his family and friends Jordon has no choice but to leave. As soon as he accepts his new role the truth behind the relationship between Reapers and Angelic Hunters is revealed. His loyalty is tested, making him choose between a corrupted God and a single Banished Spirit.

What I liked: We learn more about the world that surrounded the characters in My Demonic Ghost, and we learnt more about why certain things happened and how they happened during around the same time span as the first book. I liked how you get enough information to not be lost if this is the book you picked up first, but that there was a lot more understanding for a reader who read My Demonic Ghost beforehand as it answers some of the questions we were left wondering at the end of book one. Jordan is a character who doesn’t want to accept what’s happened to him, and wants to continue on with what he knew beforehand which quickly becomes a problem for him with the introduction of a demon wolf, Raix. Raix is a creature that people who have read My Demonic Ghost will recognize, although in book one I didn’t think “wolf” would be a very good description of the creature.

What I didn’t: Jordan was a bit overdramatic about things sometimes, and I felt that he could have handled it better, but he does have the issues he’s unwilling to face so there’s just a jumble of a mess with him and everything he gets himself into.

Overall Review: While working as a great standalone unto itself, The Reapers is a wonderful story that added to what we knew about the world that Jacinta Maree has build. It is both fun and engaging, and holds that horror factor that we came to expect in book one as well. With some new characters who we get to know I felt that Raix was my favorite, demon wolf classification aside Raix is a wonderful character in the book.

Recommend?: Yes! Whether or not you’ve read book one you should read this one as it works as a standalone as well as an informative sequel!

Goodreads: 4.6/5 Amazon: 4.5/5 Barnes&Noble: 5/5 Book Depository: -/5

Smashwords

My Rating: 4.3/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 3.6
Idea: 4.5
Story: 4.7
Characters: 4.5

Hunters and Creators

Hunters & Creators (My Demonic Ghost #3)
Jacinta Maree
Published: 17th November, 2014
Staccato Publishing

Summary:

It’s been five years since the phenomenon that shook the world’s belief in the supernatural. It has become a worldwide obsession as crowds flock together in hopes of catching a glimpse of the spirits. That is most… except Rachael Hastings.

Rachael, now at University, lives with a giant blank page in her memory from when she was fifteen years old. Plagued by nightmares of a green-eyed monster, Rachael tries to stay as far away from the paranormal as humanly possible. Despite her efforts, he stalks her through the shadows and appears in her dreams for reasons she can’t understand.

Along with friends from school, Rachael returns to Whitehaven. During her stay she is caught up in the ongoing war between heaven and hell she had unknowingly escaped from years ago.

Forced into the care of Gargoyle the Hunter, Rachael attempts to piece together her shattered memory. As emotions grow between them, a familiar green-eyed demon returns to her side, claiming that Rachael is his one true love. With the world falling apart around them, can Rachael remember who she loves and which side is right before it’s too late?

What I liked: I loved the fact we got to see how everything has changed for Rachael after how book one ended, and how we see characters we came to know in My Demonic Ghost. Rachael has a very foggy and vague memories from when she was fifteen, no longer actually remembering what happened to her that managed to change so many things for Banished Spirits, but all she really wants to do is get away from it all, she doesn’t want to have anything to do with the paranormal world. Though the more she tries to escape the more she’s dragged in by people she feels she knows, especially when she sees Lock again. Though she doesn’t really remember him for any reason other than his eyes that follow her even into her dreams. This book is just a creepy as the first two and all around the characters are still growing and changing in ways I hadn’t expected.

What I didn’t like: I was so caught up in the book that I really can’t remember anything that struck me as feeling weird other than a few phrases here and there which, upon reading them over again, made sense to me.

Overall Review: A beautiful book that has left me loving this series even more than I had expect and loving the characters who I have come to know in these books I am eager to see if there will be yet another book about these characters and their future adventures!

Recommend?: Definitely! If you’ve read the first two make sure to pick up this one because you’re bound to enjoy it!

Goodreads: 4/5 Amazon: 4/5 Barnes&Noble: -/5 BookDepository: -/5

My Rating: 4.5/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 3.9
Idea: 4.5
Story: 4.8
Characters: 4.8

Jacinta Maree

About the Author

Self confessed chocaholic, Jacinta was born and raised in Melbourne, Australia, with her loving family of five. Even as a child Jacinta had an itch to write. Writing was the one constant hobby she clung to, also trying her hand at piano, flute, tennis, horseback riding and drama.

Jacinta works full time in the family business and spends her afternoons either playing basketball, reading, writing or hanging out with friends. She is always happy to try something new; getting her real estate license, practicing ninjitshu, Zumba and parkour to name a few.

For her future, Jacinta sees herself writing. It is a large part of her identity and something she hopes to continue. Aside from her love of stories she loves Japan and its unique and beautiful culture and history. From their delicious sushi dishes right down to their wooden sandals and kimonos. She is also a huge cat person and loves to snuggle up in front of the fire for a good movie or book. Her favorite genres are paranormal and fantasy but she also loves anything written by thriller writer, Stephen King.

Links

Publisher | Facebook | Goodreads | Website | Blog | Twitter

2 responses to “My Demonic Ghost series by Jacinta Maree

  1. Thank you SO SO SO much for this extraordinary review, and thank you for your kindness and spending your time and effort not only reading all three but also reviewing them. I am so grateful, I really can’t say thank you enough.

    Like

    • It really was not a problem! I loved your books and I want to thank you for writing such wonderful stories with wonderful characters. I’m glad you liked my reviews, so thank YOU for visiting and sharing your words of kindness. As a reviewer it always makes me happy to hear an author likes the review I did of their book(s)! It’s very encouraging and makes me happy 🙂

      Like

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

