Atlantis Rising by Gloria Craw

Book Reviews

Atlantis Rising

Atlantis Rising
Gloria Craw
Published: 6th January, 2015
Entangled Teen

Summary:

I am different. I have always been different, but no one can know or my life will be in danger. So I hide in plain sight, wearing drab clothes and thick glasses and trying to be invisible. I’m so good at hiding, no one has ever noticed me. Until Ian…the mysterious and oh-so-cute boy I know I need to avoid.

Now I have been seen. And more terrifying still, I am wanted—by those who would protect me and those who would destroy everything and everyone I love. But if they’re all terrified about who I am, wait until they see what I can do…

What I liked: I liked Lillian a lot, she was a character who I understood very well and I really liked her, even though she’s a side character who isn’t seen very much I found that her personality and the way she is came through very clearly and by far was my favorite character in the book. Both Alison and Ian were characters who were entertaining and I quite enjoyed following throughout the story. The romance in this story is more of a back burner piece to the story, it’s there but it’s not really a big part of the story overall. The world building was sort of lacking for the history of the people, but considering the crunch of time they had to teach Alison I completely understood the lack of anything besides what she really needed to know, and that was the cause of the downfall of Atlantis and her people, known as the dewing (dew-ing). I liked the variety of abilities the dewing people had, and the natural differences between both humans and the dewing that were more mental than physical.

What I didn’t like: I feel like there were some obvious points where the book felt forced, such as with explanations with certain things that should have definitely been explained more than what we got. It also managed to remind me in some ways about Aqua by M. A. George, mainly with the “people of the sea engaged in civil war, main character has to learn how to use her abilities quickly, daughter of important person” and while that’s really vague and I’m sure you can find dozens of other books with a similar theme to that, but it just reminded me of it and I ended up liking this one less than I liked Aqua mainly due to the characters and how the story goes for the most part. Also, why would she believe a stranger about what she can do and who she is? It just really didn’t seem like something that someone would believe from a stranger. I also had the problem with a too-abrupt battle scene as the final battle. It just felt like it should have gone on longer than it actually did.

Overall Review: There are still some questions I have about this book after the end, and the big one is about Alison and her abilities which I won’t go into much detail about. Suffice to say that I can see the possibility of a sequel to expand upon this story and its characters, but then again it ended very well. Also there would need to be a viable threat to the dewing for a sequel and I think the only major one has been taken care of. Other than my remaining questions about the book I really enjoyed it overall, there was plenty of moments where I was sure that things would go differently than the way they ended up going.

Recommend?: You bet! I liked this book and I’m glad I was given an ARC to read! Thanks Entangled Publishing!

Goodreads: 3.7/5 Amazon: 3.6/5 Barnes&Noble: 3.6/5 BookDepository: -/5

My Rating: 3.4/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 3.6
Idea: 3.4
Story: 3.2
Characters: 3.4

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

