Lifer by Beck Nicholas

Lifer-Banner

Lifer-Cover

Lifer
Beck Nicholas
Published: 16th December, 2014
Month9Books

Summary:

Asher is a Lifer, a slave aboard the spaceship Pelican. A member of the lowest rung of society, she must serve the ship’s Officials and Astronauts as punishment for her grandparents’ crimes back on Earth. The one thing that made life bearable was her illicit relationship with Samuai, a Fishie boy, but he died alongside her brother in a freak training accident.

Still grieving for the loss of her loved ones, Asher is summoned to the upper levels to wait on Lady, the head Official’s wife and Samuai’s mother. It is the perfect opportunity to gather intel for the Lifer’s brewing rebellion. There’s just one problem—the last girl who went to the upper levels never came back.

On the other side of the universe, an alien attack has left Earth in shambles and a group called The Company has taken control. Blank wakes up in a pond completely naked and with no memory, not even his real name. So when a hot girl named Megs invites him to a black-market gaming warehouse where winning means information, he doesn’t think twice about playing. But sometimes the past is better left buried.

As Asher and Blank’s worlds collide, the truth comes out—everyone has been lied to. Bourne Identity meets Under the Never Sky in this intergalactic tale of love and deception from debut novelist Beck Nicholas.

What I liked: I really liked Asher, she was a strong character who did things I hadn’t expected of her and who’s character I grew to really enjoy over the course of the novel. Blank was an interesting character all unto himself, because he remembers nothing yet you can learn a bit about who he was before his memory of who he is and where he’s from is gone. He’s a survivor for sure, and knows how to fight so that gives us some clues if we try to connect him to Asher’s part of the story…of course, the plot isn’t just that predictable, it keeps you guessing the entire way through with some parts you can guess. Then there’s Davyd, a character who constantly managed to surprise me by doing what I didn’t always expect him to do, so it made him more of a wildcard than anything in this book (which made it a lot more fun honestly). I also liked how the Lifers had traditions of their own because that gave them a sense of being different from the other groups on the ship.

What I didn’t like: I wish I had known more about the revolution that happened on Earth that made the Lifers, well, Lifers. I mean, we get enough about what happened but I would have really like more about it, it could have been really interesting to read about. I did say that Davyd being as much of a wildcard as he was is something I enjoyed, but sometimes his being a wildcard towards Asher was something that frustrated me. I think my most frustrated part with him was at the end of their first conversation, his words were not necessary. I do consider it good that I can’t settle on if I like him or not as a person but he makes a great character.

Overall Review: Lifer was a very interesting book that managed to keep me turning the pages and left me with questions that I needed to know the answer to throughout this book. Asher is a character who stood out and, while not my favorite, I found myself connecting with her easily and understand her. Blank was my favorite of the characters, I just ended up really liking his character after watching him develop over the story. I’m iffy on Dayvd, but I do know that I really liked him as a character overall, even if I found the way he acted by going from hot to cold with Asher was something that never ended up making much sense to me. A really good read!

Recommend?: I’m not a big Sci-Fi fan, but I really enjoyed this one! Definite recommend to those who love these kinds of books!

Goodreads: 4.1/5 Amazon: 5/5 Barnes&Noble: -/5

Kobo | Chapters Indigo! | IndieBound

My Rating: 4.6/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.8
Idea: 4.5
Story: 4.7
Characters: 4.4

You can follow the rest of the tour for Lifer here!

Beck-Nicholas-head-shot-248x300

About the Author

I always wanted to write.  I’ve worked as a lab assistant, a pizza delivery driver and a high school teacher but I always pursued my first dream of creating stories. Now, I live with my family near Adelaide, halfway between the city and the sea, and am lucky to spend my days (and nights) writing young adult fiction.

Links:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest

GIVEAWAY*!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Books and Ashes is not responsible for any lost, damaged, or unreceived materials that you may win. Books and Ashes does not handle the materials, or have any input on who receives a prize. In the case of a Books and Ashes Sponsored Giveaway Random.org will choose the winner. US and international followers eligible where applicable.

2 responses to “Lifer by Beck Nicholas

  1. Pingback: 2014 M9B Books You May Have Missed! | Books and Ashes

  2. Pingback: 2014 End Of The Year Wrap-Up | Books and Ashes

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

