Blades of Magic by Terah Edun

Blades of Magic Audiobook Banner

Blades Of Magic Audiobook Cover

Blades of Magic (Crown Service #1)
Terah Edun
Published: 3rd November, 2014
Audible.com
Version: Audiobook

Summary:

It is not a peaceful time in the Algardis Empire. War is raging between the mages and seventeen-year-old Sara Fairchild will be right in the middle of it.

She just doesn’t know it yet.

Sara is the daughter of a disgraced imperial commander, executed for desertion. Sara is also the best duelist and hand-to-hand combatant in Sandrin. She lives quietly with her family’s shame but when challenged about her family’s honor, her opponent inevitably loses.

On the night she finds out her father’s true last actions, she takes the Mercenary Guilds’ vows to serve in the emperor’s army. Using her quick wits and fierce fighting skills, she earns a spot in the first division.

There she discovers secrets the mages on both sides would prefer stay hidden. Dark enemies hunt her and soon it’s not just Sara questioning the motivation behind this war.

While fighting mages, blackmailing merchants and discovering new friends, Sara comes across something she’s never had before – passion. The question is – can she fight for her empress against a mage who might unwittingly claim her heart?

This is year one of the Initiate Wars. Sara is hoping it doesn’t become the year she dies.

What I liked: I really liked the narrative in this audiobook. I don’t listen to audiobooks, rarely if ever because I have a problem paying attention since I don’t have to singularly focus on the audiobook to read. Yet the narration managed to keep pulling me back in, and I found that listening to this one was simple. I ran through four hours of the book without noticing the pass of time as I listened and imagined what I heard being described. The variation of the voices for the different characters was well done and the story felt like it flowed very well. I really enjoyed the characters as I heard them and listened to them in their journey, and I kept forgetting that so much happens in just a single day during this book! Every time they mentioned that it was the same day I realized I had forgotten that it was the same day. So much happens! I found the world building interesting, but somewhat lacking for my taste. However, that could be due to how little of the book takes places elsewhere than the main portion of this book and maybe the future books in this series will build more into this world like I’m hoping!

What I didn’t like: I would have liked a second narrator for the men in the story, because while the narrator (Sylvia Roldn Dohi) does okay with the male voices, I just feel like it would of had a more authentic feel to it if we had had a male narrator as well.

Overall Review: Sylvia Roldn Dohi does an very good job at bringing the characters in Terah Edun’s book Blades of Magic off the pages and into voice when she reads the book. While I wish there had been a second, male narrator for the male portions of the book, Sylvia did wonderful on her own as well. The characters are interesting, and though I can’t really say much about the plot without revealing anything I found it engaging and hope to be able to read/listen to the future books in this series.

Recommend?: Yes! Like I said, I’m not a big fan of audiobooks, but I quite enjoyed this one when I listened!

Audible: 3.8/5

Goodreads: 3.6/5 Amazon: 4.3/5

iTunes

My Rating: 3.5/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 3.7
Idea: 3.8
Story: 3.7
Characters: 3.5
Voice: 3

About the Author

Terah Edun is a young adult fantasy writer that writes the stories that she always loved to read as a young girl. Her Courtlight series can be seen on the USA Today Happily Ever After blog and her Crown Service series spent multiple weeks in the Amazon Top 300. Her latest book is Sworn To Ascension, the sixth in the Courtlight series. You can find her at twitter.com/tedunwrites or Facebook.com/TerahEdunAuthor.

Social Media Links

Twitter | Facebook | Tumblr

Review by Bri

Bri

2 responses to “Blades of Magic by Terah Edun

  1. Thank you for taking part in the blog tour for Girls Heart Books Tours 🙂

    Like

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

