Lichgates by S. M. Boyce

lichgates-300x166

Lichgates

Lichgates
S. M. Boyce
Published: 11th January, 2011
Acorn Valley Press
Genre: Fantasy, Romance
Age: Young Adult
From: CBB Book Promotion

Summary:

The final page will leave you breathless.

When Kara Magari uncovers a secret door in the middle of the forest, she discovers (and trips through) a portal to a hidden world full of terrifying things: Ourea. She just wants to go home, but the natives have other plans for her. She clashes with immortal shapeshifters, is carried off by a dragon, nearly dies on several occasions, and somehow becomes the master of an ancient book of magic called the Grimoire. Every time she thinks she’s safe, her new “friends” show their true colors.

Kara needs an ally, or she might not survive Ourea’s monsters. She drops her guard when Braeden, a native soldier with a dark secret, vows to keep her safe. And though she doesn’t know it, her growing attraction to him may just be her undoing.

For twelve years, Braeden Drakonin has lived a lie. The Grimoire is his one chance at redemption, and it lands in his lap when Kara Magari comes into his life. Though he begins to care for this stranded girl, there’s something he wants more. He wants the Grimoire.

Welcome to Ourea, where only the cunning survive.

What I liked: I liked the way Kara showed how she handled her transition from her realm to Ourea. Braeden was a character who’s loyalty and motives I questioned from the moment we learn of his intentions, even later on near the end I still questioned him. He’s one of those character’s who I wasn’t always very sure about. The world itself was built in a very careful and intricate way, and it’s clear the world has its own history when you learn about whats happened. Twin was a character who I really enjoyed having around, as were the magical creatures since they were interesting and the different magical humanoid species were really interesting to learn about when we got the chance to. The Grimoire was perhaps one of my favorite parts and I wished it had been shown more. A magical book that gives answers when the right questions are asked? It sounds like something I’ve heard of before, but I thought it worked really well in this book. Also, that face on the cover is creepy in a good way and makes it way more interesting to look at that I expected it to.

What I didn’t like: I found some of the word usage rather strange, it just didn’t seem to fit in the story and felt out of place. Why does she smirk when she remembers that she has a stun gun in the beginning when she’s hiking? Does it make her feel smug? I found that unlikely so it stood out as something that didn’t fit. As a person who likes hiking myself I found it really bad that Kara hikes in tennis shoes. That’s something no one should do when they hike; they should definitely be wearing hiking boots. And it says that she’s been hiking since she’s a kid? She should have definitely known better. And there were things that were mentioned that were unheard of again until it was necessary. Quite honestly I forgot certain things until they were mentioned again. Certain parts also seemed rushed.

Overall Review: While it has some inconsistencies and errors this was an interesting read that kept me entertained the entire time I read it. With interesting twist and reveals, and wonderful storytelling I can’t wait to read the second one!

Recommend?: Yes! It’s not for everyone, but it may be something you enjoy!

Goodreads: 3.9/5 Amazon: 4.4/5 Barnes&Noble: 4.4/5 BookDepository: -/5

Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon FR | Amazon ES | Amazon IT

Kobo | iBooks | Smashwords

Boyce Stare: ePub | mobi | Signed Paperback

My Rating: 3.8/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 3.9
Idea: 3.7
Story: 4.1
Characters: 3.6

Check out the tour page for the rest of the schedule!

SM Boyce Author Photo

About the Author

When I graduated with a degree in creative writing, I realized that made me well qualified for serving French fries. It would take years of writing hundreds of thousands of words of all kinds before I became the action and adventure bestselling author that I am today.

I specialize in action-packed stories that weave in fantasy, mystery, and heroines with a knack for mischief. All romantic leads are based loosely on my husband, who proved that soul mates are real. I have a deep love for ghosts, magic, and spooky things. If you’ve already finished my books, check out my blog or twitter feed for a dash of adventure.

Links:

Contact Form | Website | Blog

Social Media:

Twitter | Facebook | Google+ | YouTube |Pinterest | Amazon | Goodreads

GIVEAWAY*!

Grimoire Pendant Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Books and Ashes is not responsible for any lost, damaged, or unreceived materials that you may win. Books and Ashes does not handle the materials, or have any input on who receives a prize. US and international followers eligible where applicable.

Review by Bri

Savina-cropped

2 responses to “Lichgates by S. M. Boyce

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed it for the most part! Thanks so much for hosting a tour stop!

    Like

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

