Emeralds and Pearls by C. Spencer-Upton

Emeralds and Pearls Tour Banner

Emeralds and Pearls

Emeralds and Pearls (Semi-Precious, #1)
C. Spencer-Upton
Published:  11th October, 2014
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Summary:

I’ve spent seventeen years being a wallflower. Seventeen years, watching people live their lives, while mine stood still. I was happy for those years, nothing new happened because I never let it, every day was the same and predictable.

When my parents told me we were moving…to another state, I freaked.

I spent the first week, after the move, wishing I could move back. But then something changed, I became a someone, and to begin with I enjoyed it, but I soon learned, some things aren’t always as they seem.

I have two lives now. Both of them are testing me, pushing me to my limits.

Content warning: Harassment that leads to some violence and bouts of destructive thinking

What I liked: I liked the fantasy aspect of this book, because when it happened I sat down my kindle and stared at the wall going “Oh” because I had no idea that would be the aspect of fantasy we explore! It caught me by surprise, and I love surprises! The summary of this book it makes sense the more you read this, but it left me wondering what the summary was talking about. I love trying to figure out what’s going to happen. I loved a few of the characters as well, even if they started off pretty shady. Chelsea gets herself into a pretty bad situation early on in the book but I didn’t get mad at her because of the situation she ended up in, but I did get really worried and wonder if she would be okay because of what happens.

What I didn’t like: Dean. I really, really REALLY, did not like him. I literally noted so many pages in this book with my exasperation at him. I just, he hit me in so many wrong places and I’m incredibly sure this was intended by the author. There were also a lot of errors I picked up in the book and I noted all of them because some of them confused me if I didn’t read back over them and try to figure out what was being said. I feel like there was slang in here as well that I didn’t understand so I got confused and perhaps a bit lost at times because I didn’t understand fully what was being said.

Overall Review: Emeralds and Pearls is a really interesting novel that had me flipping pages well into the night to try and finish it as quickly as possible because I got sucked into the story of what was happening with Chelsea. While there were errors in the book and some unrecognizable slang that I didn’t understand myself, the book was well paced, had interesting characters, the sub plots to the book kept you interested along with the main plot and the conflicts in the book, while they were interesting to have and created actual tension and worry, do have the ability to hit some people in the wrong spot. Overall though, this was a really good book that I enjoyed with how we didn’t know what was going to happen until it already did. Surprises like what I’m referring to are my favorite part of reading some books because you don’t know what’s going to happen.

Recommend?: Yes! As long as you’re okay with being able to read this despite the content warning I gave then its a good book to read!

Goodreads: 4.6/5 Amazon: 4.5/5 Barnes&Noble: -/5

My Rating: 4.7/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.7
Idea: 4.6
Story: 4.8
Characters: 4.8

C. Spencer-Upton

About the Author

Born and raised in a small mining town in Derbyshire, Caroline has always battled with a huge imagination.
Unfortunately, fear also gripped her and that said fear of rejection stopped her attempting to try something that she never thought she’d be able to achieve.
In 2013, Caroline self-published her first book. A young adult, fantasy novel which she’d had in her head since being a child. That book set her off, and was soon cooking up ideas to create more and more stories.
She never once admitted to being the greatest writer, but she’s happy and content creating these stories just for your enjoyment.

Follow C. Spencer-Upton:

Website: http://www.cspencerupton.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CSpencerUptonAuthorUK

Twitter: https://twitter.com/cspencerupton

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4880152.Caroline_Spencer

GIVEAWAY*!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Books and Ashes is not responsible for any lost, damaged, or unreceived materials that you may win. Books and Ashes does not handle the materials, or have any input on who receives a prize. US and international followers eligible where applicable.

Review by Bri

Savina-cropped

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

