Reluctant Prince by Dani-Lyn Alexander

Reluctant Prince Tour Banner

Reluctanct3

Reluctant Prince (Kingdom of Cymmera #1)
Dani-Lyn Alexander
Published: 3rd November, 2014
Lyrical Press

Summary:

Betrayal lies cloaked in shadow.

Seventeen year old Ryleigh Donnovan is certain her life is cursed. Nothing ever goes smoothly, and her first job interview is no exception. An earthquake rocks the building, sending Ryleigh on a frantic search for her younger sister, a search which lands her in the hospital. Terrified they’ll push her for answers she can’t afford to give, Ryleigh flees with a mysterious stranger.

Jackson Maynard is about to be ordained as a Death Dealer, a warrior for the Kingdom of Cymmera, but first he must pass one more test. When he fails to acquire the human girl the prophet has chosen, he’s forced to stand trial for treason. Banished from his realm, he seeks out the girl from the vision, Ryleigh Donnovan, and together they embark on a journey to save his dying kingdom.

Advance Praise for Reluctant Prince

“A gorgeously wrought fantasy realm with a heroine who will make you cheer!”

~Wendy Higgins, NYT and USA Today bestselling author of the Sweet Evil trilogy.

What I liked: I really thought the cover was interesting, I wondered why it looked the way it did and drew me in to look at the summary and then take a chance (because isn’t that what we do with every book the first time we read it?). To me it set the tone off right away that this was a fantasy book, and normally having a shirtless guy on the cover makes me shove it away because of all those heavy adult romance novels overdoing it. Oh and yeah, there is a dragon on the cover. I liked how much there was to read, it was short but not too short to where I felt like it could have been longer. I liked where it ended, because it wasn’t dragged out into more than the amount of pages necessary. Sometimes a short book is a good book! I loved the magic in this story. It’s different from most everything I’ve read before! What we learned about Cymmera and how it came to be like what we see was something that made me sad. I was back and forth on all the characters throughout the book, but by the end I had more solid feelings about them. I ended up liking Ryleigh by the end of the story though, so that was nice.

What I didn’t like: Okay, author. TELL ME WHY BOTH THE GIRLS ARE NOT IN SCHOOL EVEN THOUGH THEY’RE SUPPOSED TO BE? Granted, Ryleigh could have dropped out to take care of Mia, but….Mia. She’s fourteen(ish). Good job on staying on the down-low. Should have put her in school for the day (I’m assuming this started on a weekday…they still should have noticed). Also, Kai, I did NOT get his character. I kept staring at the page going “Really man? Really? Go away, you’re not necessary.” with him. I also felt Mia should have definitely been younger with how she acted, she just seemed too innocent.

Overall Review: With the twist of magic, and characters with interesting motives and a story that kept me reading, Reluctant Prince was a really great story that kept me entertained almost throughout the entire story.  While I did have problems with the story, I loved the cover and the ending of the book. It’s a short read that I finished quickly and enjoyed. I’m certainly looking forward to the next book to see what happens!

Recommend?: It’s a good, quick read. I certainly enjoyed it and if you like fantasy maybe you will as well!

My Rating: 4/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.3
Idea: 4.6
Story: 3.8
Characters: 3.4

Goodreads: 3.4/5 Amazon: 4.2/5 Barnes&Noble: 4/5

Dani-Lyn_Alexander (1)

About the Author:

Dani-Lyn Alexander lives on Long Island with her husband, three kids and three dogs. She loves spending time with her family, at the beach, the playground, or just about anywhere. In her spare time, which is rare, she enjoys reading and shopping—especially in book stores. Some of her favorite things include; Bernese Mountain Dogs, musicals, bubble baths and soft blankets. She’s an incurable insomniac and has an addiction to chocolate.

Author Links:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

GIVEAWAY*!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Books and Ashes is not responsible for any lost, damaged, or unreceived materials that you may win. Books and Ashes does not handle the materials, or have any input on who receives a prize. US and international followers eligible where applicable.

Review by Bri

Savina-cropped

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

