The Spellbound Trilogy by Nikki Jefford

 Book Reviews

Entangled

Entangled (The Spellbound Trilogy #1)
Nikki Jefford
Published: 20th February, 2012
Genre: Paranormal, Romance
Age: Young Adult
From: YA Bound Book Tours

Summary:

Two months after dying, seventeen-year-old witch Graylee Perez wakes up in her twin sister Charlene’s body.

Until Gray finds a way back inside her own body, she’s stuck being Charlene every twenty-hour hours. Her sister has left precise instructions on how Gray should dress and behave. Looking like a prep isn’t half as bad as hanging out with Charlene’s snotty friends and gropey boyfriend.

The “normals” of McKinley High might be quick to write her behavior off as post-traumatic stress, but warlock Raj McKenna is the only person who suspects Gray has returned from the dead.

Now Gray has to solve the mystery of her death and resurrection and disentangle herself from Charlene’s body before she disappears for good.

***Entangled is a young adult paranormal fantasy romance suitable for ages 15 and up.***

What I liked: That cover is gorgeous, and one of the things that first drew me to the book when I saw it after getting the second one from YA Bound Book Tours through review request acceptance! Plus at the time it was also free on Amazon (and still is), so how could I pass up the first two books of what seemed like an interesting series? I liked the underlying story, the idea the story was based around, and I found the characters likable in certain spots of the story. I found how the switching took place was interesting, Charlene and Gray “took turns” being the dominate person (I sort of got a kick out of how Charlene and Gray relayed messages to one another when they were “awake”). Plus the mother seemed like a good character. I wish we had gotten to know her more.

What I didn’t like: I found the execution of the story to be really lacking from what could have happened. The lack of worldbuilding about the witches and the community outside the one in the town left me with more questions than answers. Plus the whole power repression thing done by Charlene on Gray made me SO confused. Like, why are there so many terrible sisters in books out to make the other look bad? It doesn’t make sense at all and its an old thing that really shouldn’t be done like this. It just seems really common when I look at sibling characters and I don’t like it at all.

Overall Review: Going into this book it seemed like it would have a lot of potential, but the execution and sometimes the characters just really didn’t live up to what I wanted and the lack of worldbuilding gave it sort of an empty feel when I looked beyond what this small town encompassed about an community. Plus the stereotypes, and the motivations for characters doing certain things lacked believability to me when I look at them by the end of the story. Especially Charlene, Charlene continuously did things that didn’t fit her character when we were given it. There was a lot of contradiction to me with her. Oh, and Raj. Raj was definitely my least favorite character besides Charlene. Those two just needed more development and better introductions than what we’re given. Plus Gray was decidedly the worst sister in the beginning.

Recommend?: Hah, no. No I don’t. The numbers on the individual portions don’t lie. Hella pretty cover, terrible story.

Goodreads: 3.6/5 Amazon: 4.3/5 Barnes&Noble: 4.2/5 BookDepository: 5/5

My Rating: 3.1/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.6
Idea: 3.4
Story: 2.4
Characters: 2.1

Duplicity

Duplicity (The Spellbound Trilogy #2)
Nikki Jefford
Published: 20th May, 2012
Genre: Paranormal, Romance
Age: Young Adult
From: YA Bound Book Tours

Summary:

If Graylee Perez thought sharing a body with her twin sister was bad, dealing with a duplicate of herself is two times worse. Gray the second doesn’t seem to get that Lee’s boyfriend, Raj, is off limits. Then there’s the problem of Adrian. He expects one of the Graylees to be his.

Nearly a year later, the council is on to them for past misdeeds; Lee, along with the rest of the coven, has lost control of her powers; and Gray is being stalked by what looks like the Grim Reaper.

If the two Grays work together, they may stand a chance of setting things right and making it out alive.

What I liked: Alright, the covers to this entire series is nothing short of beautiful. Can we establish that now? Yes? Good. Because I love the way the covers look. Kinda frosty like ice and there’s Duplicity’s flower which stands out quite a bit since it’s not green. I feel like there was more going on that made much more sense in this one as well, though again there are lacking in the building and explaining. Plus, the “Grim Reaper” aspect, I didn’t see that being the powerful necromancer talked about by Gray’s mother. I like how Gray now goes by Lee as well, simply because it’s part of her original name (Graylee) and her host body’s middle name (Stacy Lee). It gives her past and future a connection which was pretty cool.

What I didn’t like: Okay, fiction it may be, but there really needs to be a better explanation as to how two Gray’s could exist since they’re both either the same soul at different stages  or two different souls of the same person…that part is still really fuzzy to me. Like, extremely fuzzy. Literally the Grim Reaper barely plays a part in the entire book except as a sort of solution to the problem that they face. Which…wasn’t exactly a solution that made sense when it happened. I think that the story itself could have been more interesting if it was done right, but the whole thing fell below my expectations.

Overall Review: This book had a lot of interesting simply because we have two Gray’s running around and both of them had different experiences since they have souls at different points in the time of Gray’s life. Lee is technically older and a bit more experienced in life because she’s been around and had to adjust to living a different life, Gray is technically younger and wakes up months after the last book ended and can’t seem to adjust to what’s changed while she was…wherever. I think there was some character development in this story, especially when you compare how Lee and Gray first interact and how their last interaction is. So, while this book what not quite what I was expecting or wanted, it definitely felt better than the first book once I finished.

Recommend?: If you read on after the disaster of book one that happened, you may feel the need to read on to book three. After all, book two contains an excerpt of book three at the very end, and oh does it sound like it will be interesting.

Goodreads: 3.9/5 Amazon: 4.4/5 Barnes&Noble: 4.6/5 BookDepository: -/5

My Rating: 3.7/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.7
Idea: 3.7
Story: 3.4
Characters: 3.1

Enchantment

Enchantment (The Spellbound Trilogy #3)
Nikki Jefford
Published: 6th April, 2013
Genre: Paranormal, Romance
Age: Young Adult
From: Purchased via Amazon

Summary:

Graylee Perez returned from the dead, took on a duplicate, and now faces her biggest adventure yet.

Barcelona.
Summer escape.

Or so Gray thought until her old adversary, Adrian Montez, brings his magic show to Spain.

Gray seeks out a Spanish wizard to help banish Adrian from her life once and for all. Instead, she tumbles headfirst into a love spell with the arrogant warlock.

When old enemies close in on them, Gray must face her true feelings and decide if Adrian’s worth fighting for and, more importantly, whether he’s worthy of her heart.

What I liked: I love how we get to learn more about the magical community in this book, and more about the magic that comes with it! There’s a lot of backstory for Adrian at the beginning so we can learn more about him and how he came to be, and I liked learning about how he came to be who he is. Most of the characters are likable, at least at some point in the story. Nan especially, she was a really interesting character but I didn’t understand her motivations originally. And then we have Charlene who comes back into the picture, which of course means something big is going to happen. They’re more civil to each other as well, something I was happy about.

What I didn’t like: I just feel like what her friends did wasn’t incredibly nice, or even what a friend would do really. Maybe it was just a common environment thing that made the friendships happen, but it definitely left a bad feeling with me long after it was over. Plus Hannah just, no. I didn’t like her character much once we got to know her.

Overall Review: Okay, I have to admit, after a disaster of a first book, and an iffy second book, Enchantment read so much better than I was expecting. I really enjoyed it so much! Yeah, everything hit the ceiling fan sometimes (per usual with these books it seems) but everything played out nicely and it seemed to wrap up nicely with a little bowtie. I feel as if everything has come to an end for these characters, and it gives me a nice content feeling that after everything that the characters have gone through it’s finally over.

Recommend?: Obviously after reading two, you might want to read the third. It gives its own conclusion to duplicate-Gray’s adventures which were fun to read about. I’m happy to have read it!

Goodreads: 4.1/5 Amazon: 4.7/5 Barnes&Noble: 4.6/5 BookDepository: -/5

My Rating: 4.4/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.6
Idea: 4.2
Story: 4.4
Characters: 4.5

Review by Bri

Bri

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

