Midnight Magick by Katerina Martinez

 Book Reviews

Midnight Magick (Amber Lee Mysteries #1)
Katerina Martinez
Published: 25th September, 2014
CreateSpace

Summary:

Amber Lee has a decent life: she lives in a great house, she’s about to start school again, her best friend Eliza is pregnant, and the pair of them are Wiccans with a healthy bond. But ever since Eliza moved out of Amber’s house and in with her boyfriend Evan, Amber’s been feeling a growing pang of loneliness in her chest.

When Damien, a stranger to her town, mysteriously comes into her life bringing with him all manner of strangeness, everything changes. Damien shows Amber a side of her she never knew existed, and ignites in her a spark she hadn’t felt in a long time, but he’s haunted by a dark secret and a purpose which may prove fatal to them both – and by the time she realizes it, there’s no turning back.

Midnight Magick will take you deep into a world of witchcraft and mystery, where bonds are tested, hearts broken and lives lost.

Content Warning: This is an Adult novel with some sex scenes in certain parts.

What I liked: I find it really hard to find close to accurate portrayals of Wiccans, so I was infinitely pleased when I realized that the main group of characters we follow are. And it’s done right. There’s no trying to do bad things to people because Witch is synonymous to Wiccan to some, there’s one Wiccan ritual in the book (Mabon) and it was portrayed and explained like it is supposed to happen. I was pleased by the portrayal of the Wiccan Coven. I liked some of the characters as well. Aaron was one of those characters who seemed to keep the reader guessing for a good bit of the time he’s on the pages. Especially after his introduction into the story, I actually thought he was just going to be a source of some form of antagonism but he plays a larger part than just that. Eliza was a fun character when she appeared, she amused me quite a bit thoroughout the story.

What I didn’t like: The plot moved the characters more than the characters moved the plot. This is a big issue with the book, something that I was not pleased with. Some of the characters just didn’t move the plot at all, and the entire end of the book was too hurried and rushed through. There was little mystery to who the killer is, but we did have several loose string tied up because of the hurried ending and there really didn’t seem to be much left to start a second book off of besides the main character’s status as a True Witch. Which, admittedly, that’s likely to have a large set of consequences when it happens. I would have liked to see Amber’s Coven members be more of a part of the story though.

Overall Review: Midnight Magick is an interesting idea for a book with semi-interesting characters. While the plot isn’t all that original, the romance seems less based on attraction for Amber and Damien, and the plot was hurried in places it is carried out in an interesting way that made me more interested in the situation than the characters themselves.

Recommend?: Mmm, no, not really. The story’s idea is interesting but its execution wasn’t what I was exactly hoping for. But, don’t let me stop you from reading it.

Goodreads: 3.6/5 Amazon: 3.6/5

Amazon | Amazon UK | Amazon CA

My Rating: 3.5/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.2
Idea: 3.7
Story: 3.3
Characters: 3.1

image

About the Author:

My name is Katerina. I love to read and write, and until now I’ve been cooped up in a desk job with nothing to do but drift away on a sea of corporate bull until I do what is expected of me (marriage, kids, etc).

Eventually I decided that enough was enough, so I took a chance and wrote a book; my first book. Then I mulled over my options and chose to self-publish with Amazon, panicked over the “Publish” button for a few hours, and waited patiently for my book to show up on the listing.

Now I’m here, part of this big, wide world, trying to meet other people like me – folks starting out in the self-publishing business or just fellow authors/ readers who share my kinds of interests!

For those of you starting out, I can tell you, it’s a rollercoaster. None of it is easy. And even if your work doesn’t sell, at least you can be proud that you put yourself out there and took that step!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/katmartinezauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/IAmKatMartinez

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8435383.Katerina_Martinez

Blog: http://martinezkaterina.blogspot.com/

Amazon Author Profile: www.amazon.com/author/katerinamartinez

GIVEAWAY*!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Books and Ashes is not responsible for any lost, damaged, or unreceived materials that you may win. Books and Ashes does not handle the materials, or have any input on who receives a prize. US and international followers eligible where applicable.

Review by Bri

Bri

One response to “Midnight Magick by Katerina Martinez

  1. Pingback: The Rule of Three by Katerina Martinez | Books and Ashes

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

