Cimmerian Moon Series by A. M. Griffin

Book Reviews

Against the Darkness

Against the Darkness (Cimmerian Moon #1)
A. M. Griffin
Published: 4th June, 2014
Createspace
Genre: Science Fiction, Romance
Age: Young Adult
From: Xpresso Book Tours

Summary:

This one time, at band camp…aliens invaded earth. Sounds like a bad riff on an old joke, doesn’t it? Unfortunately for me and my friends, it’s all too true. I thought a mess like this only happened in the movies but, as I watch the alien ships hovering over the major cities, I suddenly realize I’m a thousand miles away from my Mom. From home. From safety.

Darkness may have fallen over the world, but I won’t let it claim me. I’ll do anything I have to get back to Michigan. Yet nothing could prepare me for what we find on our trek north from Tallahassee. There’s hardly anything the aliens haven’t bombed. Survival, at any cost, is the name of the game for the few people who haven’t been killed or captured. As if trying to stay free and alive isn’t enough, I think I just met the love of my life. And he’s just the kind of bad boy who’ll tear down the walls I’ve built around my heart—then break it.

What I liked: The story told a good scenario of what would happen if suddenly out of nowhere aliens decided to take over the world and try to capture everyone, destroying cities and towns world wide and killing millions. The main character, Sinta, is a mixed raced girl, and it plays a sort of important role in the book. Sinta is a character who comes off as very serious, no nonsense, determined, and at times stubborn, desperate to get home, and scared as well. Makes sense, she’s far from home and the only family she really has, her mother, she has no idea if she’s dead or alive. Mia is an interesting character, a Columbian teenager that Sinta has known for years. Though Sinta doesn’t give a nice opinion of Mia at first, the bond between the two girls is easy to see when they talk. Ian and MJ are two characters who do change a lot over the course of the story, circumstances give them the choice to change for the better of the group or let something bad to happen because they did not. I liked the aliens, and the way they reacted to Earth’s weather was interesting and the comparison to lizards gave me a good idea as to what they looked like.

What I didn’t like: The change between the prologue and chapter one was really drastic, I was expecting a little about camp and a cutoff with aliens invading, but instead we go from getting on the bus to Sinta and the band kids running through the woods trying to get back to Michigan. It threw me off quite a bit. Here and there I found missing quote marks and some strange wording, which threw me off a bit as well. Sometimes the characters fell a bit flat, and I didn’t always feel the tension of the situation.

Overall Review: Against The Darkness is a good book about a girl in the alien invasion with a group of kids trying to return home. Sinta is an interesting character who did surprise me at times during the story and the plot was interesting to watch unfold. Each of the characters were characters I came to like besides one of them, who I will not name. I’m excited to read the sequel The Ashes That Remain to see how everything continues to play out.

Recommend?: I would, it’s a good book and it keeps the readers attention, along with a few parts where you can get emotional about the characters. I liked it a lot.

Goodreads: 3.8/5 Amazon: 4.2/5 Barnes&Noble: -/5 BookDepository: -/5

My Rating: 4.4/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.7
Idea: 4.3
Story: 4.2
Characters: 4.4

The Ashes That Remain

The Ashes That Remain (Cimmerian Moon #2)
A. M. Griffin
Published: 6th August, 2014
Createspace
Genre: Science Fiction, Romance
Age: Young Adult
From: Xpresso Book Tours

Summary:

We’re at war against the aliens that have invaded Earth, fighting the only way we can—by surviving. I have more than most people do, but although I know it’s stupid to hold on, I can’t let go of what might have been—can’t help dreaming of something more. No matter how I tell myself it would be easier to do what everyone else wants me to, there’s a part of me that can’t give in. Making the best of the situation is one thing. Settling, even to make other people happy, is something else.

Then we hear the alien mother ships have disappeared. Of course we have to go and investigate. What we find lands us in a huge mess that we somehow have to clean up and, as our little enclave is rocked to the core with even more changes, I’m learning a hard lesson.

The more things change—for the better or the worse—there’s no fighting human nature, and building on the ashes that remain will take everything we have. And maybe more.

What I liked: The stakes were raised in book two, making it more suspenseful in places than in the previous book. The introduction of a few new characters seems a bit inconsequential now, but I’m sure in book three they’ll play a larger role. I liked watching how Sinta tried to get through the problems she faced in this one, few as they may have been. Plus, with the way the book ended it left me on the edge of my seat wondering just exactly what is going to be happening in the third book (which I can’t wait to get my hands on since it released earlier this month!). It’s also easy to tell how things have changed since they arrived at the shelter, mainly in the dynamics of how everything seems to be going. Each of the characters seems to have grown even more since the first book as well.

What I didn’t like: There was a lot less action and suspense put into this book than in the first one, though everything that happened I guess needed to happen to set up for the third book. I just felt there was something lacking, even if I did like the book overall.

Overall Review: Something was just missing to me in this book. Yes overall I liked it, maybe not as much as the first one because there wasn’t much that really happened (I’m thinking the entire book covered, what maybe two weeks tops?) but there was enough going on in the time frame the book covers that it kept me interested and continue reading to find out the outcome.

Recommend?: If you want to continue with the series this book does have important things that go on but I’m more “bleh” to this book than I was the first one.

Goodreads: 4.6/5 Amazon: 4.7/5 Barnes&Noble: 5/5 Smashwords: -/5 Kobo: -/5

My Rating: 4/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.8
Idea: 3.7
Story: 3.5
Characters: 4.1

Review by Iris

Assassin Iris

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

