Eventide by Christine Allen-Riley

Eventide (Iron Falls #1)
Christine Allen-Riley
Published: 20th October, 2014

Summary:

The driver in a tragic car accident that killed her best friend, Devon Greer is consumed by guilt. When powerful hallucinations convince her that she’s seeing Rachael everywhere, Devon thinks she’s going crazy. But her friend isn’t truly gone.

To save Rachael from the faeries who stole her, Devon must pit herself against the Court of the Sidhe. Once she witnesses the true form of the fey, Devon’s life is in danger—and so are the lives of everyone she loves.

Now, Devon must not only protect herself, but also Jonah Seafort, Rachael’s cousin and the only person Devon can trust to help her. While the Sidhe walk among them, no one is safe…

What I liked: The first thing that comes to mind for me with this is the cover. After reading the book and looking at the cover it just really fits the story. To me it gives off a sort of creepy vibe with the way it looks, actually I think creepy isn’t the word I’m looking for. The vibe though, it gives it off and it reflects into the story when you read it in places. I liked the Sidhe part as well, that they weren’t just your everyday faeries. They were Sidhe. From what I’ve read of them, the Sidhe are different from other faeries. Plus bringing in the darker nature that faeries have makes me interested. I love the darker side of The Fair Folk, I find it a lot more interesting than the nice side. Anyway, the plot was interesting, with little predictability to it. Devon was a nice main character, she was determined to make things right, and I felt that the guilt over her best friend was at times shoved aside for other things but at the same time, she did everything to save her best friend. Loyalty and close bonds between friends at its best, of course try explaining that to the kids at school who blame her. Jonah was a good side character, he had his own motivations and story that happened outside what we saw when he was with Devon and we got glimpses of that when he spoke of it. Mellie was a character who’s motivations and actions I questioned whenever she was present, mainly because of who she is. Thorn though, I didn’t like him from the moment he showed up in the book. Struck me as a character that Devon definitely shouldn’t be around no matter what. His motivations weren’t clear at first, but as the story moved on they were more clear than I wanted them too be. The romance was nice and cute as well, there was a build up to it which made it feel a lot more real to me. I loved how the parallels between different cultures as far as myths were concerned were pulled in for us to see, that was different in its own way to see. Let’s also not forget the great family dynamics that were seen, there were no evil family members out to kill the main character (unlike some books in this genre I’ve read recently). The family dynamics being portrayed in a realistic fashion is probably what sold me to this book. I loved the way the family was shown in all its quirks and normality.

What I didn’t like: The descriptions were sometimes lacking on some characters while others had descriptions repeatedly mentioned, and there were some minor errors involved here and there that I noticed. Overall though, there were very few hiccups with the story and it flowed well.

Overall Review: I loved this book, I really did. The characters, while sometimes having trouble and the few inconsistencies, they were moving with the plot in a way that worked. The plot didn’t move them, they moved the plot, twisting it and moving it around as they tried to solve this mystery. The plot itself, it was something that I wanted to read again, and makes me anxious to read the second installment of the series (which sadly doesn’t apparently come out until Winter 2015). I’m certainly going to read this book again in the future to immerse myself more solidly in the book and take it slower. I’ll know everything that happens and the next time I’ll be reading to try and pick up more on the story than this time.

Recommend?: Definitely! If you love fantasy this is an enjoyable read. Or if you’re looking for something with The Fair Folk being evil and creepy. Both reasons work incredibly well.

Goodreads: 4.4/5 Amazon: 4.8/5 Barnes&Noble: -/5 Smashwords: -/5 Kobo: -/5

My Rating: 4.7/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.7
Idea: 4.8
Story: 4.6
Characters: 4.7

About the Author

Lover of books, nature, cats and shiny things. Active disliker of cooking, cleaning and stress.
Mom, freelance editor & YA author – also a bit of a nerd.

Author Links:

WebsiteGoodreadsTwitterFacebook

GIVEAWAY*:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Books and Ashes is not responsible for any lost, damaged, or unreceived copy that you may win. Books and Ashes does not handle the books, or have any input on who receives a copy. US and international followers eligible where applicable.

Review by Bri

Savina-cropped

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

