Prophecy by Julie Anne Lindsey

 Prophecy tour banner

Prophecy

Prophecy (Calypso, #1)
Julie Anne Lindsey
Published: 6th October, 2014
Kensington Books

Summary:

On the other side of death, is destiny.

Callie Ingram is spending her senior year focused on one thing: swimming. Her skill as a competitive swimmer is going to secure a scholarship and her future, or so she hopes. She has big plans, and Liam Hale, her gorgeous new neighbor, isn’t going to affect them. But when Callie sees Liam beheading someone, she learns his family has a secret that will change everything. The Hales are Vikings, demi-gods who’ve been charged by The Fates to find their new destined leader.

Callie’s caught in the middle of a budding Norse apocalypse, in love with Liam Hale and desperate to protect her best friend…who the Hales believe is marked for transformation. Putting the clues together as fast as she can, can discovers she has the power to rewrite destiny, for herself and all humankind.

What I liked: I liked the different approach with demigods, they were interesting. The clans aspect of the demigods and their claim to the Viking heritage was something I hadn’t seen before. Also, the allusion to Greek mythology because of Nike and her three brothers with the Norse twist, I found that pretty cool. The romance aspect of the story I didn’t always agree with (I rooted for a different character), but I did like the romance to it. High school, you can’t avoid romance or drama. There’s plenty of petty high school drama in here and I loved it. Although, the way it was enacted made me feel for Callie. No one deserves what happened to Callie. Callie though, I loved her and her personality. She’s not just resilient and loyal, we see her awkward and shy because of her awkwardness. She was three dimensional, and I fell in love with her as a character. I’ll be rooting for her through the books! I loved the writing for the book, and it has that tone and ability to capture the moment in places. I can’t forget to mention Liam, and the first meetings Callie had with him. I laughed, there’s no denying it. They were funny to me!

What I didn’t like: I wish the mythology had become more involved in the story than it did, it felt glossed over and I wanted more of it fit into the story. It felt like it took the back seat unless it needed to be brought up in more detail. This lead to less of a fantasy feel in the beginning, and I expected fantasy to play more of a part in the overall story than it did.

Overall Review: Prophecy is a good read, and something a bit different with it’s fantasy aspect. The romance was cute, and the characters were likable and some were characters I loved to hate. Some characters were ones I was split about and by the end had an idea about how I felt about them. The characters all seemed a bit complex, and I enjoyed the movement of the story, and where it’s left us at the end. I look forward to the next book!

Recommend?: It depends on what you like. The fantasy part is present, but it has contemporary romance that seems to overshadow the fantasy portion at times. If your interested in the blurb though, go for it!

AmazonB&NKensingtoniTunes

My Rating: 4.3/5

Rated Materials:
Cover: 4.8
Story: 3.7
Idea: 4.2
Character: 4.5

julie anne lindsey

About the Author

I tell stories, mostly to my children, sometimes to strangers. I’m YA obsessed, addicted to social media, caffeine and Poptarts. You can find me anytime lurking around the Internet, amped up on sugar and wielding a book.

I’m thrilled to announce the Fall 2013 release of My YA suspense, Deceived, from Merit Press and my debut cozy mystery series from Carina Press. 2013 is shaping up to be an amazing year.

I also write sweet romance stories for Honey Creek Books.

Author Links:

 photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png

Giveaway*!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Books and Ashes is not responsible for any lost, damaged, or unreceived materials that you may win. Books and Ashes does not handle the materials, or have any input on who receives a prize. US and international followers eligible where applicable.

Review by Iris

Comments are always welcome and greatly accepted! Please comment as you please :)

